Back on My Own Again - Missed Trains and Queues


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
July 30th 1990
Published: October 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Alan and Richard were planning on going on to Morocco and they had had some jabs before they left England. I had not, so I decided not to risk going with them. So off they went, leaving me sad and lonely again, with a couple of hours to kill before the next train left for France. To avoid a repeat of that hellish journey, I decided to get into the queue to make a seat reservation. After a long wait, I discovered that there was a supplement payable to travel on this train. Since I had not got any change, I was forced to get in another queue for the currency exchange, just before the guy behind the counter decided to leave and help one of his mates for half an hour. Back in the reservations queue, everyone was waiting for the counter to re-open after that guy had also disappeared for a break. It came as no surprise that by the time I got to the front, the France train was long gone and I had to book a seat on a train back to Madrid. God help me.

Goodbye forever Lisbon, as it’ll be a cold day in hell before I’ll ever come back!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 71; dbt: 0.1697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb