Krynica-Zdroj- Spa and ski town


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Subcarpathian
February 8th 2009
Published: February 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yep, got a bus to Krynica in the Polish countryside. Unfortunately for me, I didn't have time to enjoy the spa or the skiing since I was only spending one night. My 3 hour bus got in pretty much on time - give or take 15 minutes 😊 I met Kasia, my host for the night and did a quick night tour of the town since as it turns out, she didn't live in Krynica but in the next town over. Krynica reminded me of Tahoe in the winter. It's touristy but not overly so and stunning with its blanket of snow. We headed out for her village, Powroznik, and 5 minutes later, we were there. It's really cute with just one main road running through the town. Her place was towards the end of the road and her grandmother, parents and sister were very welcoming. There is a Polish saying about the guest being like god and they seemed to take it very seriously. They showed me what Polish hospitality was and I was quite touched at the care they showed.

The next day, I went to church with them. I've never been to a Catholic mass before and it was interesting. The town church is one of those precious UNESCO protected wooden churches from waaay back when and although it didn't have heating, it had some simple but absolutely stunning decorations. It's really nice to see that it was still a working church and not just a relic to be gawked at. After church, Kasia and I took my new best friend, Rocky, out for a walk. This trip seems to be filled with first time experinces and it was my first time taking a dog for a walk. Although I feel like it was the other way around since Rocky was the biggest doberman I've ever seen and seemed to know that I'm unexperienced - he had me almost running after him in order to keep up until I learned to pull on the leash. We went back and had a great lunch that Kasia's mom made before she dropped us off at the train station in Muszyna. About three hours later, Kasia got off in Krakow and I continued on for another 3-4 hours to Warsaw.

On a side note, so far, the Poles have been worried about my footwear. I'm not sure why since I've seen other people wearing sneakers. They always seem skeptical that my toes haven't fallen off from frostbite even though I assure them that my three layers of socks keep me warm.

Advertisement



10th February 2009

hej..its really nice to read what you're up to and i hope you're enjoying your trip a lot..at least thats how it sounds like..i hope you're taking pictures too and posting them one day cause i'd really like to see how these places you visit look like..good luck for everything and i hope vi ses in april..

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb