Em on her own in the Wild East


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Masovia » Warsaw
May 17th 2008
Published: May 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Nearly 12 months gone and not a single trip for Em and Frankie, who are spending all their time working and staying in London again. Really missing seeing new places and was really pleased that I was sent to Poland on a short business trip. It's a bit sad getting exciting about a business trip, but I have never been to Poland and here we go. Em on her own arrived without local currency and only one cash card at the airport and then couldn’t get any cash. The taxi was pre-booked but not pre-paid and after a bit of haggling, the driver agreed to take me for 10 EUR.

My fears that the office and hotel would be on the outskirts of Warsaw did not come true and I stayed in the centre in a fantastic hotel with views of the cultural palace. Next t day was dedicated to work and I was not able to check out the sights until after 18:00. The lovely Dorota from the Warsaw office took me sight seeing and the old town is beautiful. The squares are excellent for sitting outside and the whole town seems very lively. Dorota then took me to try some Polish dumplings, which were nice and very filling. I was eating a lot on my trip as I could not resist overeating during breakfast not being used to free, big buffets offering everything!

Next day, back to work and then back to the airport. I couldn't resist taking the bus to the airport, which cost 50 p or something and I was the only passenger. It seems that you can take the girl out of the budget travelling, but not the traveller out of the girl or so.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb