A homemade Polish dinner


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lublin Province » Lublin
September 25th 2009
Published: September 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Dzień Dobry 😊 Hope everyone is doing well!

So, as I mentioned in the last travel blog, yesterday we went to Ola's Mom's house for dinner. As we were in the car on the way over (it wasn't a long ride at all....5 minutes tops) Ola turns around and says to me "Gotowy jesteś na przesłuchanie, Mikołaju?" (Are you ready for the interrogation?) So I look all confused and I ask "Interrogation of what?" She tells me "Well, my mom is interested to get to meet you - I'm almost certain she's going to ask you a whole bunch of questions."

So we arrive at her mom's house and sit down to the table. She brings out the best chicken soup I've ever had in my life (sorry Mom!) but before she gives us the soup she had to make sure I knew the Polish word for chicken soup first. Then we had chicken with potatoes and carrots and there was a kind of surówka but I don't remember what it was called. Come dessert, there was cheesecake and coffee. But of course, I had to let Ola's mom know that I knew what it was called. She lookes at me and says "A jakie to ciasto?" (What kind of cake is this?) "To sernik!" (Cheesecake!)

I really enjoyed myself yesterday. It was a fun experience and the food was amazing!

Hugs from Polska,
Nick

Advertisement



25th September 2009

What? No pierogi?
25th September 2009

hehehe I had pierogi two days ago - we went to a restaurant called "Chata" (cottage) and it was all traditional Polish food - there I had super pierogi :D

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb