Made it!


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lublin Province » Lublin
September 24th 2009
Published: September 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!

I'm sorry for the delay in travel blog posts - I'm currently visiting with friends in Lublin (a city which is about 3 hours south-east of Warsaw by car) so my laptop doesn't have access to the internet here.

So my flight over went really well aside from the fact that it was supposed to leave at 5:30pm and didn't end up taking off until around 7:45pm or something crazy like that. I finally arrived in Warsaw at about 11:45am local time. So, after getting off the plane of course I had to walk in what seemed like one of those horrible mazes that you'd find at the pumpkin patch made entirely of hay (though this one had concrete walls) to get to the passport control. At this point I figured all of the irritating airport delays were over - WRONG! As I was waiting by the "odbiór bagaży" (the place where you pick your bags up from) I ran into the next travel issue. The bags started coming out on the little ramp thing and after about 5 or 6 came out all the sudden the whole thing just stops. Okay. So, waiting, waiting, waiting, then look at the screen to make sure I'm standing by the right baggage claim thing, waiting, waiting, in the mean time I look up at the screen again and notice that before all of the bagage from my flight has come out, there's already a flight from Rome listed on the screen and those bags start coming out. Wonderful! Finally, after I managed to spot my bags I went through customs and somehow managed to find Michał at the airport. We left and set off for Lublin.

It's weird to think that eventhough I am infact in a foreign country, I feel at home. Especially in Lublin since I've spend so much time here already. It felt really good as Michał and I were returning from Warsaw when we got to the outskirts of Lublin and things started looking familiar to me. Yesterday, Ola and I went to the Old Town for a little bit (pictures of that outing/pictures in general might have to wait until I get to Warsaw) and I told her I almost expected to run into someone from KUL (Katolicki Uniwersytet Lubelski where I got my Polish language certificate last summer) as we were walking through the gates to the Old Town.

Anyhow, that's all I've got for now! Tonight I think we are going to Ola's mom's house for dinner 😊

I hope everything back home is going well!!!!

--Me

Advertisement



24th September 2009

Additional Travel Gliches
An while Nick was having travel fun on his end, mom and dad were hysterical on this end. We were expecting a call from Nick around 3am CT to let us know that he landed safely in Poland. Around 9am CT we really worried because we had still not heard anything. We knew the flight had landed, but that was it. His dad had visions of Nick stuck in Customs in a holding cell getting ready to get deported. In the meantime, I called Verizon to see if his phone was working. They told me his SIM card was never activated to make international calls. That upset me because I had called and gone into a store to have it activated and they told me it was. While I was on the phone with Verizon I got on to facebook and invited Nick's friend Ola to be my friend hoping to find out any information about Nick I could. She accepted my invitation and let me know Nick made is safely and was about an hour away from Lublin. The girl from Verizon was extremely helpful and was able to activate Nick's SIM card over the phone. A lot of worry for nothing, but just glad Nick made it safe and sound.
24th September 2009

Good to hear.
Glad you made it safely despite the hiccups. Now you will remember to make out this blog in english correct? Sorry we didn't get to hang out that last time before you left, but I certainly understand. Busy busy. But my only question is this, since you will be gone for a year who will be bringing me my lasagna?? I'm still owed you know.
25th September 2009

UM WHY AM I NOT WITH YOU?

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb