Nalesniki and Prost


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
May 19th 2012
Published: May 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Warsaw, PolandWarsaw, PolandWarsaw, Poland

Old Town in Warsaw
I need to start by saying, Polish people have the most interesting cusine. So far I have had Zalewajka which is Sausage, boiled eggs and Potato soup. Cold Beetroot soup with boiled eggs. Nalesniki which is pancakes filled with white cheese which has blended strawberries on top. Dumpling filled with cabbage and mushrooms, with and white cheese and with Strawberries, also an omelette with Strawberry Jam on top. Really crazy flavours but actually it does taste good!! Something I love about this country is that their currency is Zloty and for 1 Euro I get 4 Zloty. So it quite cheap which suits me and my budget.

Matt and I were in Gdansk for 1 night and 1 day! It was a cute little village that is still used as a port, so it had really old boats! From there we went to Warsaw which is the Capital of Poland. Lots of people only speak Polish and only some speak a little English. I went to buy some bananas at a shop and the lady started yelling at me in Polish and then threw my bananas on the floor, after a while I realised that you need to weigh fruit
Gdansk, PolandGdansk, PolandGdansk, Poland

Streets in Gdansk
and put a price sticker on it!! That was a fun expeience and probably took me about 20 minute to work out! Polish women can yell let me tell you. The people in Warsaw dont really like tourists, well that lady hated me anyways! The weather in Warsaw was really warm then really cold!

Matt lived here 5 years ago for a 1 year and stayed with a family. So we went and stayed with them in a small town called Nowa which is 30 min outside of Warsaw city. There are so lovely! They are early 40's and have 3 kids, we ate lots of Polish food and enjoyed Polish drinks. So then we randomly decided to catch a train to Berlin in GERMANY!!!! We were there for 2 days and 2 nights, which wasn't long enough! We caught a train from Warsaw, oh and also the trains are AWESOME, quite slow and old but they have carrages that seat either 6 or 8 people so your facing eachtoher....like off harry potter!! I LOVE BERLIN. It was absolutely amazing! There is so much History there... so many museums about their history about the holocaust, and lots of memorials
Berlin, GermanyBerlin, GermanyBerlin, Germany

Dinner with Matt and Plowman
to those victims of WWII. We did a walking tour of Berlin which took about 4 hours, but we saw so much. The remains of the Berlin Wall, the Brandenburg Gate, Musuem Island (where Hilter conducted all of his public speeches), the square of the Nazi Book burning, hitlers, SS and Gestapo, Joseph HQ, checkpoint Charlie (which divided east and west Germany from the Berlin Wall) I stood over Hitlers Bunker and where he commited Suicide, the Death Strip, I went to the memorial to the murdered Jews and the muesum, I went to the Muesum of Topgraphy of Terror . SO MUCH INFO...I learned so much!! Obviously, Berlin isn't all about Hitler and WW1 and WWII but it is also a really fun happening city, which is really modern and famous for the public displays of art and their gay scene. We had a few steins there too! Our hosel that we stayed in was brand new and on the first night we were there they had there Grand Openning party, which was completely free and amazing. I really wished I had more time in Berlin!! So we caught the train back to Warsaw yesterday and stayed last night and the families place and had more delish Polish food!! The weather today is so nice!! I am in a singlet and shorts...absolutely loving life.We caught the train from Warsaw to Krakow. Matt and I walked around, it is a very quaint place, lots happening so much more touristy then Warsaw but it isn't very big. . So tomorrow we are doing a day trip to Auschwitz in the mornign and in the afternoon we are visiting a Salt Mine called Wieliczka. Then the next day we are doing a walking tour of the old town and the Jewish Quarter. Oh also caught up with Sam Plowman in Berlin, as you do! So awesome!! On Monday we are going to Budapest for about a week!! Having such an amazing time!! I will try and update my blog weekly!!

LOVE JEN XO

Advertisement



25th May 2012

Don't mind women (or men) yelling at you, that will happen in sheer frustration to miscommunication. Love you, miss you, hope you are having the time of your life xxoo

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb