Isbreen


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Jostedal
September 13th 2006
Published: September 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

That means Glacier in Norwiegan. I just got back from a trip over a glacier and up a mountain! it was great fun, it was a three day/two night trip, this post is mostly for pictures, I will tell the tale another time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

On the way to the campsiteOn the way to the campsite
On the way to the campsite

This is a picture of many of my classmates as we are taking a short break on our way to where we set up camp.
Full Battle RegaliaFull Battle Regalia
Full Battle Regalia

I think that this makes me look like I am in the airforce or something, perhaps it is the full body harness... Anyways we are on the glacier, and you can see most of my class spread out in the background
DropoffDropoff
Dropoff

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Oh, and that water down below the glacier? it took us a couple of hours to get there from camp, then we crossed the glacier, then we climbed the mountain, then we went all the way back. It was really fun.
Uncomfortably CloseUncomfortably Close
Uncomfortably Close

I promise that this is no trick of the camera, my head is in fact hanging out over a huge, huge drop. Anyone who has been up North Suicide, the Northeast side is a fair sized cliff, well this is a fair sight larger. And yes, I spit, and no, I have no idea where it landed I lost sight of it long before the bottom.
This kid is INSANEThis kid is INSANE
This kid is INSANE

This kid--Vaegar--is crazy! Their is nothing below his feet for a really really long ways, this is not just a cliff it is a bit of an overhang, the teacher is making him get down, but he was hanging even further out a second before.
This is what I didThis is what I did
This is what I did

This is Sondre, he has a brain, he belly crawled to the edge like me. Do you see the glacier way down below? that continues on to direcly under the overhang, and you can look straight down, down, down onto the ice. I was definetly breathing hard when looking over the edge.
Safe and SoundSafe and Sound
Safe and Sound

Christoffer and Sondre once we are back on the top ridge, can you see how incredibly skinny it is? the sides may not look THAT steep, but they are! and they just get steeper. What you can see there is the entire breadth of the top, go out of the frame and you are toast, or pancakes, but you are definetly more breakfast food than human if you fall.
The RidgeThe Ridge
The Ridge

This is the ridge we walked along on the top(this is the fat side, it got skinnier as we moved towards the dropoff on the other side of the peak, I am standing next to the pile of rocks that marks the peak itself, you can see my classmates in the foreground and Jotunhiemen (the home of the gods) spread out behind them
Testing an IcebridgeTesting an Icebridge
Testing an Icebridge

I was the first guy on the rope behind the instructor, Rune, this is him testing our path
Last leg of the GlacierLast leg of the Glacier
Last leg of the Glacier

Just as we where coming off the glacier the sun came out. Aint it pretty?


18th September 2006

caution a good thing
Well, I'm glad you get a bit of an adrenalin rush when you near the edge of a cliff, makes me feel better. The pictures are awesome. I can't imagine such an adventure in a U.S. high school--too much perceived risk and liability. You'd probably have to enroll in a NOLS course or something. It is a lot of fun seeing the people you're with. I really want you to do an entry on your host family and post their pictures. Everett asked about you yesterday. He said, "What is Drew like?" That tells me that the physical sensation of you being around is fading a bit for him. It would be nice if you could post some pictures of where you live and introduce your family so that he can see you more. Today at the fellowship, he shared in joys and concerns that his brother would be back when he's six. That's what he tells everyone, "Drew will be back when I'm six." Anyway, great seeing all the pictures of your classmates.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb