Ultimate Experience in the Nord Norge


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Northern Norway » Tromsø
November 6th 2009
Published: December 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tromsø is long way from any part of the world : it's 3 hours by plane from Oslo, and took me nearly 20 hours from Tel Aviv, Israel. On 6th November afternoon, I departed with the world's safest and impenetrable security airlines : ELAL to Amsterdam, despite of how many times of the Jews attacks the Muslims, how confused between Israeli and Lebanese, and avoided flying anywhere above the Islamic airspace, afterall the airlines still considered one of the most success and has the safest record in the industry.

So where is Troms? Troms is located above the European Arctic Circle of the county of Troms in Norway. Alot of people might easily make this common mistake when saying Tromsø, (including me). It should be pronounced as Trom-saa, instead of Trom-so.

When my plane was in final approach, my first glimpse of Troms through the airplane window was absolutely breathtaking, it was something like between Iceland, New Zealand or perhaps Oregon.

The start of long winter in Tromsø also means that darkness close to 24-7. I had no idea what time of the day it was or what meal I should be eating. I was quite lucky that when it was still November, the sun rises at 10 and goes down at 2, so I had almost 4 hours to do the thing I supposed to.

No trip to Norway in winter would be completed without an experience to see the Aurora Borealis. After spending some time within the Artic region I was slightly disappointed not to have seen the Northern lights but on our last day in Troms, we have been driving since 9am until about 7pm and we were so luckily got to experience of Aurora Borealis aka the Northern Lights near Senja.

It was full of beauty, not exactly like we normally see in the pictures but enough to amazed us. The perfect ending to an already brilliant weekend in the Arctic Circle or Nord-Norway.

Few more facts about Troms, it has the world's northern most university, it is the world's most density population town in the Arctic, and it's the world's most expensive town. A basic hamburger would set you off for at least US$20, and a small bottle of coke for at least US$7, I am glad that I was sticking to fuel station for four days, twenty-four seven, provided me three meals a day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb