Norway.........a beautiful place to see!


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Northern Norway » Tromsø
July 9th 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi All!

Well, what a past 2 weeks it's been I can tell you! Firstly let me apologise for not being in contact any sooner as the internet on the ship went down as we were travelling around Norway.
Firstly, I highly recommend a visit to Norway. We're not talking sunbathing on the beach or party-nights but the breathtaking scenery is sure to move the most hardened of people.
A glacier in one of the Fjords was an awesome sight. We cruised through this narrow passage-way slowly for the best part of the day, to take in the sights; clear blue skies, snow capped mountains & crystal clear water. One of the stops was Geiranger & a 2 hour trek with my 2 cabin mates enabled me to see the best of the views.
The ship was 'parked' in tender port which means a little away from the shore. Little 'ducklings', as the capytain likes to call them go to & from the shore. Nestled in the water it provided many a picture of which after the 10th photo I still couldn't believe how it got there?!
The grass was the deepest shade of green & the waterfalss crahsed several hundred feet. As it was the freshest of water, it was lovely to drink!
Funnily enought the weather was bright & albeit a little 'nippy' but by no means cold. As always everything was terribly over-priced but you just didn;t feel the need to buy souveneirs as having a good pair of walking shoes & a camera was enough.
Of course the best of the memories I came away with of Norway was experiencing the Midnight Sun. At a point in the very north, way into the Artic Circle & only 300 miles from the North Pole, the sun shines 24/7!!! Myself & a few friends took a bottle of Jagermeister to the crew deck which is right at the front (look at pic's of the ship, it's the brown bit) at 1am to toast such a bri;;iant sight. It could almost be 1 in the afternoon, & not in the morning.
Now we're back to the Med. Greece, Italy, Spain & Croatia should provide plenty of beaches to rest upon! I was in Malaga yesterday & spent the whole day on the beach, & swimming in the sea. When you've been on the ship for 5 days straight it's hard not to get excited at the first bit of land you set your foot on! I can't wait for my pinkness to turn brown!!
I am currently getting all my picccies put on a disk so I can then hopefully downlaod some onto here, but believe me, they're worth waiting for!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb