Bummer


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
October 8th 2008
Published: October 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

FårikålFårikålFårikål

You've got the lamb, the cabbage, and the potatoes. Can't get any more Norwegian, really, unless you made it wear thick wooly slippers and act standoffish. :)
Well I don't think Camilla will end up having people over to her house for fårikål. But that's ok, I think I will make some myself, actually! I just found some videos showing how to make it. Looks simple and tasty!

Here's a link to a video of a Norwegian couple making a huge batch and showing you how to make it. Also there's a cute kitty. :P (I thought I could put the video right in here but it won't let me, boo.)


You can try it too, if you want to try something authentically Norwegian. The name literally means sheep in cabbage. It was voted the national dish sometime in the 1970s.

Basically...get a head of cabbage and a couple pounds of bone-in lamb or mutton stew meat, in chunks. You will also need salt, whole peppercorns and white flour.

In a pot, make a layer of the fattiest pieces of meat. Then a layer of cabbage (cut into wedges). Sprinkle peppercorns, salt, and flour over top. Repeat until you use everything up, making sure there's cabbage on top (and the seasonings). Then pour about an inch of water in the bottom (the cabbage releases its juices so you don't need any more water than that) and let it simmer for 2-3 hours. Don't stir!

It should be served with boiled potatoes and a light beer. 😊 I will try making this for Dan when he comes back.

Advertisement



8th October 2008

Sounds Yummy
I will have to try it sometime.
9th October 2008

It is really good but be careful not to bite on the peppercorns!(you kind of have to push them aside) I had this dish while I was in Norway. It was the best trip i took. I made my arrangements with Kontiki Travel 718 748-7400 (they knew everything, they are in a Norwegian part of Brooklyn) I had to change my ticket and it was nice to have someone to call instead of listening to a recording. There is another dish I had called Lapskaus which was like a stew with carrots, Potatoes and Beef. Anyone know the recipe ...it was delicious.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb