Sitting with God.


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
September 11th 2005
Published: September 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I went down to the fortress for my PT. It was very nice just being outside by myself and looking out at the harbor with all of the amazing sailboats. As I was walking out there I was just feeling a little, not down, but just like I wanted more. You can see so much of God all around the house and I was just praying, “Lord I want to hear from you, I want to know You more for myself not just through others.” So I sat down and started reading my Bible. Here is part of what I read:

Psalm 17:15
“And I - in righteousness will see your face when I awake, I will be satisfied with seeing your likeness.”

Then I read in Matthew 17 about the transfiguration when Peter, James, & John saw Jesus transfigured before them.

After that I read James 4:7-8a
“Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come near to God and he will come near to you.
James 4:10
“Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up.”

After reading that I felt as if God was telling me the following:
Stop looking back or else you will continue to stumble. The only way to go forward successfully and consistently is to look forward at the goal: Jesus.

He has actually told me this before but in a different way. When God led the Israelites out of Egypt instead of trusting in God to take them to the Promise Land and looking forward to that, they kept looking back to where they came from. Even though in Egypt they were slaves, they wanted to go back there because they didn’t trust God (despite the amazing miracles they had just seen) to get them to the Promise Land. Since they kept looking back they never were able to get what God wanted for them.

So the past is the past, good bad ugly, I’ve already been there and now I am going forward not looking to the left or the right, but keeping my eyes on Jesus - no longer will I stumble but be victorious because Jesus lives inside me and I am surrender myself to Him and His will for my life.


I forgot where I read this but I thought the following was good:
"We never outgrow our need for God; we never arrive in the Christiain life. We survive spiritually only by constantly depending on God for mercy and for strength. The credit goes to God, not to us."

Advertisement



18th September 2005

Armor of God
I thought of another parallel to what you are talking about. In the armor of God there is no backplate, because we shouldn't be looking back, always forward. I really like your blog.

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb