Made it!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
June 4th 2012
Published: June 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Brisbane airportBrisbane airportBrisbane airport

Brisbane airport
Preface: Don't worry - my entries won't normally be this long - I just had a lot of time during the flights...

Well, I made it - I'm actually here.And lying in a comfy bed, having gone 48 hours without one - bliss!!

The lead up to my departure was punctuated by phone calls, visits, dinners, texts from various friends and rellies - even flowers from the lovely Yarna! So much so that i feel a bit of a fraud only going away for four weeks! Maybe I should hide for another month when I get back, to make it all seem more deserving...

My main worry while I'm away is that the milk that spilt onto the carpet in my car the day before I left will have matured by the time I get back, and in spite of my cleaning attempts, which would've put Lady Macbeth to shame, I fear the car, garage and house will smell like a Gorgonzola factory 😞 Time will tell.

Ellen dropped me at the airport, and we hugged each other extra tight, as I won't be around to see her off next week for her month in Tanzania. There goes my 'Mother of the Year' award again. I can just see the headlines: "Heartless mother swans around Europe, while daughter meets death by (insert cause of death here, e.g. cholera, lion's jaws, AIDS, violence, typhoid) whilst working selflessly with orphans in deepest, darkest Africa!"Ah well, I don't suppose me seeing her off would've made any difference..

The flights were uneventful, which is what you want, I guess! Emirates is amazing! You almost want the flight to be longer, there is so much choice in the entertainment system! ..Almost.

I only saw Dubai from the sky and from the airport, but it is quite something. It reeks of international money. In the airport I shared a café table with a Catholic missionary from Paris, in full cassock, who'd been working in Durban. Bit surreal. Then met an Ethiopian professor, going to Amsterdam for "research" (aren't we all!)

Met by my wonderful, hilarious, clever, amazing 'little' brother, Will at Amsterdam airport. He has lived in Holland for over 20 years now. He plays the Natural (Baroque) Trumpet for a living, and has formed his own baroque group, so I'm hoping to see him either rehearse or perform while
Dubai airportDubai airportDubai airport

Dubai airport
I'm here. I caught up with him in Sydney last year, but haven't seen his wife and 2 little kids since Ellen & I were here 4.5 years ago! Adrianne is an architect, who works internationally, and so Will does a lot of the parenting. Their kids, Alexandra, 7, and Bas (Sebastian), 5, are so gorgeous-looking and sweet, they must get it from Adrianne's side if the family!

Straight to school pickup from the airport, then swimming lessons (Bas, not me), then - believe it or not - a 5 km walkathon with about 500 school kids & parents. No DVTs for me! Moët and poached salmon for dinner, and that was the end of me.Time to crash!! x


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Dubai airportDubai airport
Dubai airport

Dubai airport
In-flight magazineIn-flight magazine
In-flight magazine

In-flight magazine
Being chauffeured in Will's boxcart!Being chauffeured in Will's boxcart!
Being chauffeured in Will's boxcart!

Being chauffeured in Will's boxcart!
Welcome drinks : )Welcome drinks : )
Welcome drinks : )

Welcome drinks : )


5th June 2012

Finally on holidays
Went onto your site to see whats new and you've already gone. I'm so jealous. Have a great time and am looking forward to your blogs. Hope I'm doing this right.
5th June 2012

Yes, you are!
Thanks, Robyn. I don't think having a great time will be a problem..!! See you when I get back. x
5th June 2012

No use fretting over spilt milk
Give those little Fishies a kiss from me. The big ones too. And tell me your final dates there...
5th June 2012

Kk
Well I'm here till Thursday, then off to France for a week, then Belfast, then Westerham, and back here for the last few days. I leave for home on the 29th. x
6th June 2012
Brisbane airport

Janice fsm
Enjoying the blog and the photos. Will get the computer to M so's he can enjoy too.
6th June 2012
Being chauffeured in Will's boxcart!

from Michael
Lovely photos thank you. The children look happy and well.
12th June 2012
Being chauffeured in Will's boxcart!

The children are delightful! x
9th June 2012

Made it
Didn't see this email before I replied to the last. Haven't checked them all week - busy as usual working, looking after injured dog and running kids around. Nice welcome for you :) Loving the pics! My J.P. Chenet is tasting very ordinary looking at your Moet!!
12th June 2012

How is the poor dog?? xx

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb