An organic, multi grain, vegan experience in Utrecht


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Province of Utrecht » Utrecht
June 29th 2009
Published: August 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Great looking carvingGreat looking carvingGreat looking carving

they are arguing about the benefits of vegan food?
Now, what a lovely city! We spent a great afternoon in Utrecht, with Guido and friend Marina. The weather was perfect for casual strolling while doing our best to avoid being run down by the fiets.

We had an interesting dining experience, out of respect for the fact that Marina is a vegetarian we decided we should eat at the vegan restaurant we found by accident on the banks of the canal. I had no idea what any of the items on the menu were, after all it was written in Dutch and it was also in Vegan, so I put my trust in the waiter and asked of he could suggest something. He said it was no problem, he could put together a plate for me to taste various grains and other organic delights. What arrived on the plate was an interesting mixture, the colours ranged from beige through to purple.

As I munched away I still had no idea what most of it was, I did recognise the chick peas and the wild rice. It was not so bad washed down with the fresh vegetable juice - no alcohol was available so juice was the go. It was an interesting dining experience, but I must admit when I got the bill I was a little surprised at the cost of cow feed in the Netherlands - sorry silly joke!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

around Utrechtaround Utrecht
around Utrecht

another nice door
around Utrechtaround Utrecht
around Utrecht

the vegan, organic, multi grain experience


Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 37; qc: 143; dbt: 0.1632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb