Australian/south African restaurant, Groningen disco techs and friendly Dutch girls :)


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Province of Groningen » Groningen
September 1st 2010
Published: September 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well several of my Groningen sk8ers friend suggested I ask about working at the local Oz themed pub and restaurant.

I'm so glad they did. This place is a charming genuine place to relax and have a good meal. Yes they serve kangaroo but more surprisingly they have Boerswore and Beltong

I choose Boerswore thick chips and salad of course being a South African born Banana boy (thats a name given to guy born in Durban back in SA) Growing in Queensland that makes me a banana bender boy. I've already had two nanas for breakfast 😊P. and to wash it down a tim tam milk shake and tall glass of strong bow gold.

I had a chat with the manager Dav my other friend had already up in a good word for me, also named David.
Though here are no jobs available now he said "that chances quickly so get an a application form".

It's looking positive and suits me down to the ground because I now plan to travel Europe until it gets to cold then likely base myself here to learn and live out the winter 😊

I went out on my own from the hostel I'm staying at to see a bit what the bars, nightclub and disco techs are.
Mostly to get an idea of what the people are like.

In short they awesome and friendly as!

People actually go out night to meet people and relax.

So I went to a place named twister just so happens to be the same name as a set of skates I’m really interested in. A good sign. It was 10 pm that’s only when the nightclubs ad disco tech just start opening in Groningen and Europe in general I’m told. Though it was usually busy as I discovered from the bar girl. Her name is Kim by the way said “normally we aren’t open tonight but tonight different they pretty much all a fraternity since university is being here.”

I asked “I’m new here what’s the night scene like here?” Kim misunderstood thinking I wanted to know what local cocktail I should try . She said “you must try (insert strange dutch words)”,
which I asked what it was?

She replied “Sex in the kitchen”, naturally I was slightly bemused thinking “ I know the Dutch are direct by even that’s a little to forward as yet. Then I realized is was just the name of the cocktail J.


I ask “so how does work here do people just go out on they own to just have fun and meet people?” Kim said “yeah I do”
Kim told me best to return at 1am that when it gets moving J
She is totally right, I smoothly knocked back a cola (seems they prefer to serve Pepsi here, dare to be different) I love the music in the disco techs here its fun and feel good pop or what ever else gives positive feelings.

I quickly said Hi to some local girls and began chatting and dancing a lot with one in particular who knew a little salsa her name is Lilly in dutch J, before long they said “You coming to another with us club called shooters” I’m like “yeah for sure, OK”.
Would you say no to an offer like that from five friendly Dutch ladies? 😉P . I did kind of feel like their new pet, it a nice feeling actual.
In the next place Lilly asked if I would like a drink I thought “This is new”. while she got me one of her friends took me aside and asked “You like her, right?” (mmmm this wonderful social dynamic common here inthe Nederlands know as directness),
I said “yes, she’s nice J “.
She replied ” You’ll have to fight for her” as in you’ve got compete for her, that just isn’t my preferred style, so kind of ruined it for me really. We danced a bit more though feeling fizzled mainly seems she rarely stopped drinking or smoking.
So I legged it was 3am in the morning and the club was a boiler room.
Though those girls were really fun and friendly I should of asked for a way to contact them later oops never mind. I think they were just a little surprised went quickly said “I’m going its was nice meeting you, Cheers “
Oops


Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb