Van Drachten naar Zwolle


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Overijssel » Zwolle
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ah the camera has made a comeback. Welcome back I said.

I'm still not up to a heck of a lot. I ran the half-marathon in Leeuwarden the other week where I finished third so was OK for a bit. However upon receiving my prize they called my name out as Kees Kuiper (or something). I mean, I'm in the Netherlands- I don't have to spell my name out or correct people a billion times a day- so I expect a bit bit better from the Leeuwarden marathon. But on the otherhand, Kuiper does sound pretty good.

Now I'm in the middle of the Netherlands somewhere, staying with other relatives, so I'm getting closer to Amsterdam etc.

Yesterday I cycled from one city to another, it was around 80ks, via all sorts of little towns and through the forest, along canals, through some small far-right Christian communities- the northern outskirts of the infamous Dutch 'Blackbelt' (which was obviously the highlight) and saw all sorts of things on the way. In the process I rode through three different provinces- which shows just how small the Netherlands actually is. My back brake cable snapped just as I left Drachten
Drachten's blue streetDrachten's blue streetDrachten's blue street

They're building a waterway here right into the city centre. With the blue, they're trying to 'prepare' people. Piant Costs: 60,000Euro. Money well spent I say.
but that was OK, didn't need it anyway.

I've included plenty of snaps from my little excursion but sorry I failed to come across any tulip farms, windmills or high intensive industrial clog factories. Also check my previous blog for photos from Friesland. :-)




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

11km's through the forest   11km's through the forest
11km's through the forest

Boswachterij Smilde


21st June 2007

Following in Martin's Footsteps?
Is that... a beard?!
22nd June 2007

beard?
na super-imposed. See you soon in Amsterdam
22nd June 2007

Bike intel
How long would you say the 80 odd kms took, riding time? Glad to see you're keeping up the running, its nice that you're trying to get yourself in shape. Dinky says he misses you.
22nd June 2007

80ks
Well I was stoping every 10mins to take a picture and pissed round for a while here and there. But 80ks in the Netherlands (so flat) should take 3.5-4hrs. You're still coming over?
27th June 2007

Flat NL
It's really quite strange to see you and Gina visiting (giggly) the places where I lived some years ago and found rather low in interest... I on the other hand go to New Brighton on the week end, walk on the beach and find myself living a very exotic life in Christchurch.
30th June 2007

Beard ????
Hey mate youll need to shave off the beard itll be giving you too much wind resistance !!!!!

Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb