Crazy glue and black footprints on the shoe store floor.


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
May 6th 2007
Published: May 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Replaying the past several days in my head, it is hard to put everything into words. It is hard to beleive how much has happened in just a few short weeks. We started out on this journey, showered and clean and ready for adventure. Three weeks later we are very tired, very dirty and still ready for adventure. A few times we have had to ask ourselves, "What is that smell?". It doesn't take long to realize that it is actually US.

On our short layover from New York to London, we stopped into a shop in the airport where I picked up some "Crazy Glue". It would prove to be one of the most important purchases of our entire trip.

I was able to glue the sole of my shoe back on at the Eiffel Tower, glue the strap of my flip-flop back on at the ruins of Pompei, and glue it back again in Florence. Courtney has used it to perform CPR on her day bag, fixing the strap, and the buckle.

After picnicking in a piazza in Florence, my flip-flop broke again and my crazy glue was not handy. Luckily, there was a shoe store right down the street. On the way there, someone who obviously doesn't know me very well said, "Well I guess you are going to have to break down and buy a new pair of sandals!" my reply of course was, "Break down? Are you kidding? What could be better than shoe shopping in Florence?". We made our way into the shoe shop where very few of the pairs of shoes were big enough for my giant feet. We finally found a pair that were sort of big enough and I decided to get them. After wrapping up my purchases, (the shoes and a sweet new watch) we made our way to the front door. Looking behind me as I left, was a GIANT black foot print on the floor from my dirty feet. All I could do was laugh as we watched the store lady rush over to the spot as soon as we left and wipe it up with a paper towel. Of course! Why wouldn't I leave a giant black footprint on the floor of a shoe store?

We are in Amsterdam right now and tomorrow we plan to go to the flower auction, flea market, Anne Frank House and a walk in Vondelpark.

Thank you everyone for reading my sad attempt at a blog.

Love, Becky

Advertisement



7th May 2007

Amsterdam
Wow Beck it sounds like your rough'n it in a city. I wish I could go to Europe and visit everything your seeing. I know your not the type or maybe you are but you should really experience ALL Amsterdam has to offer. Go to a coffe shop and you'll know what I'm talking about. I think its great you and your friends are doing this. I love you and be safe.
7th May 2007

keep blogging
becky dear your entry is in no way a sad attempt! it is well written and funny and sweet. silly girl.
7th May 2007

Becky, your blogs are great! :)

Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb