Lost in translation


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Brabant » Breda
January 24th 2011
Published: January 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Made an embarrassingly stupid mistake this morning- woke up bright an early with plenty of time before uni. I leisurely cycled in for our presentations only to find everyone had already long started. I was surprised my tutor was unimpressed to see me arrive supposedly late- I thought five minutes early wasn't that bad. Until I later discovered that when a student told me class would start half twelve, this meant twelve minus thirty and not half 'past' twelve?! I know I won't make this same mistake again!
I was glad to be able to listen to several presentations before mine, so I could apply some of their feedback to my presentation. It was inspiring to see the variety of student's practice and approaches on this project. I chose to play an audio of a couple young kids playing on the platform station which I'd recorded this weekend. The idea was that this would create an atmosphere and give a clue as to my character. I then took several materials from loo rolls, polystirene balls, scissors and cellotape from my rucksack and began to quiety play around with them to create a wearable disguise of an alien. Student's commented on the resemblance to nursery activities, dressing up, becoming somebody you want to be, not having quite the same access to my fantasy world of imagination as me and curiously watching my actions unfold. I was happy with my presentation as I aimed to engaged my audience and they seem to have read my intentions.
Now we have to produce work inspired by another student's presentation- I've been asked to follow through Gaina's short video of herself, with the soundtrack 'Bijzonder' by Veldhuis en Kempen. Her feedback focused on the strength of her chosen song as apposed to the images, so I think I'll look into how sound affects imagery or how it affects how we perceive the images.

Advertisement



25th January 2011

so mother - so daughter
I am so sorry I didn't prepare you for this easy to make mistake. Living now for almost 17 year in England I still need to pause and think when someone arrange a time of half 2 or whatever as I am still thinking it means half past the hour instead of before the hour. My fortune living here is I will be never too late! Your presentation sounds interesting and I glad it went well. love mum x

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1842s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb