First day of school


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Brabant » Breda
January 17th 2011
Published: January 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It was really lovely meeting up with Ron, a family friend who also lives in Breda and who told me of all the good places to out in Breda at night!
Today I had an introduction to the minor in Scenography after meeting my peers and tutors. The module sounds very exciting and has got me very inspired! I was amazed by just how much I could follow what was being said to me in Dutch. The brief is 'Whodunit' so we're asked to research optical illusions and narrative. We have to develop a publicity plan, with sketches, maquettes and planning to final. The tutors would like us to reach out of our comfort zone and create a new identity in which we will present ourselves- this will be the first step to 'things no longer being as they seem'. I don't mind giving a presentation but I certainly don't like the idea of acting, so I am going to have to be creative and find a way of enjoying this first project. I can't wait to explore ideas on set design, costume and interactive events to bring surprise and excitement to the public! Carnival starts in March too, so I have that to look forward to!
Vera and Judith in my course gave me a tour of the campus then we cycled back to town where we had a drink and watched Haar naam was Sarah in the cinema, which ended up being a French/English film.

Advertisement



17th January 2011

hello from norwich
Hello Kiama This is Kelly here - I am lecturing on the Visual Studies course and covering some of Kimberley's role whilst she is on maternity leave. She mentioned you are on Eramus. Sounds like you are having exciting adventures! The new brief you have sounds intriguing. I think that is a good idea to settle into the project before thinking about ways of creating a new identity for yourself...maybe you can think of ways of representing an alternative persona without having to act yourself? Creating a fictional documentary, hiring an actor to act on your behalf etc etc - lots of possibilities! Keep up with the blog so we can follow your activities. And remember if you need to get in touch about anything you can email me, Peter or Paul at nuca too. Have fun Kelly

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb