Malta Post 2..Somewhat getting my bearings..


Advertisement
Malta's flag
Europe » Malta
February 15th 2011
Published: February 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Okay, I'm probably never going to do this..poor decision on my part telling everyone back home that I would. But I'll try..also, if you want to just know when I update I'm pretty sure you just subscribe to my blog and it tells you via email when I update. Anyways, I've basically been wondering around this island aimlessly and trying to get people to not hate me. It's working out pretty well. Everyone is really nice and I think there's definitely a few people here I'll get along really well with (sigh of relief..) Last Thursday was a national holiday in Malta, St. Paul's Shipwreck, and so a bunch of us got a bus to Valletta, the capital, for the festival. It was a lot of fun we had a cappuccino at a pretty cool cafe, then walked around the city wondering what time the parade was going to start. We heard it would start at 1, then someone said 2, then someone said 5, the someone also said not til after 6...that's basically the Maltese attitude in a nutshell. No one ever really knows what's going on, but they come out to support it and be apart of it anyways. So, the "parade" was basically a marching band playing one song, breaking to go have a beer, then coming out and playing two more songs. Haha so I'm not to worried about missing the first song. We did a lot of exploring and I actually ended up staying there from around 11ish in the morning until around 7 at night. The guy who told us the fun was starting in the evening was right though! They had this parade of all of these people from the church carrying big crosses and at the end there were about 10 guys in robes carrying this HUGE statue! I have pictures from there that I will eventually upload, it's just the internet connection moves slower than molasses here. We went to Paceville on Friday and it was a lot of fun, it's kind of just a strip of bars, night clubs, cheap food places and everyone on the island not too old to party at night clubs (and a few that are most definitely too old..) goes out for a good time. Saturday we all got up and went to the temples, which are the oldest free standing structures in the world! It was definitely really cool, but I don't see me going back hah. We did some exploring there for the day and then for a hot second thought we missed the last bus out of town by about 10 seconds. Luckily, after looking cluelessly at maps and considering which way would be the best way to walk (we were literally in like the middle of no where), we asked the older man sitting next to us if there was another bus coming and he told us there was one more. Thank goodness! The bus ride back was interesting (as are all public bus rides here)..the driver was possibly on 2 wheels at every round about and did not even bother to shut the door. At one point someone was paying him and he was looking down getting change while the bus was just drifting aimlessly into traffic. Also, one kid looked down at the speedometer at one point while we are flying around a turn that it read 0, so that's comforting. When we were going through a tunnel this group of motorcyclists sped by us at about 80 mph doing wheelies and swerving in and out of traffic. It was a pretty interesting trip home. Then classes started this Monday, so I've been going to a bunch of different classes trying to figure out which ones I will like/won't be insanely hard. I think i prefer how they do it here because you just kind of go to whatever classes you want and then at the end of the week you schedule. It's a lot less stressful then the way Clarion does it. Last weekend I tried pastizzi for the first time, it's basically this pastry with mashed up peas in it and then they have one with ricotta in it, I haven't tried that one yet but I think I'll like it better than the peas (not that it was bad at all). I'm going to ask tomorrow about some sort of organized soccer here and I also REALLY am going to start working out tomorrow. I will never let Coach Rob know how lazy I've been over here haha. I ran around Leja one time, but I was fearing for my life the entire time and I literally almost got hit by a car driving up on the side walk, so it makes working out tough. There's a lot I'm sure I'm leaving out since I've been pretty busy doing a bunch of things, but I guess the details will come up another time. I'll try to update more, but no promises! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb