Ohrid - Day 3


Advertisement
Macedonia's flag
Europe » Macedonia » Ohrid
August 6th 2011
Published: August 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After the capital in Skopje I headed out towards the Macedonia/Albanian border and arguably the delight in Macdeonia's crown - Ohrid. The town of Ohrid lies beside the beautiful lake that also bears its name and in the summer it is awash with tourists.

I couldn't find anywhere to stay in advance as all the hostels were booked up, however, I had heard that on arrival at the bus station you get mobbed by residents offering you home-stays so I chanced my luck and hoped there were some waiting for me when I got there. As it happens there was a reception party waiting and one of the most vocal was a huge bear of a man offering me a room but I wasn't that comfortable with the prospect of sleeping under the same roof as him so I picked on this quiet old lady at the back as she seemed harmless enough:-)

Fortunately the room I got given was great, it had 3 single beds and even an ajoining kitchen - very plush for me. Many of the residents of Ohrid and Dubrovnik, in fact, move out of their own bedrooms and rent them out to tourists over the summer months for extra income.

Ohris was a lovely lakeside town and you can do numerous water taxi trips out to the lake with accompanying raki for a few euros, it was a bit crowded for me and decided just to stay the one night. There are loads of nice churches you can visit while you are there if you are that way inclined.

Boring bits:

There is no bus from Ohrid to Tirana, you have to travel north to Struga (20 mins in car) and catch the bus from there. The departure times were 12:30 in the afternoon and there is one around 19:00 and cost 35 Euro. It took around 4.5 hours to get to Tirana



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb