Luxembourg


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg
July 17th 2008
Published: July 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Luxembourg

….And the 4 hour train ride!

Well…we all had separate cars on the train to Luxembourg. Jeff, Chuck, MB, Willis and I all shared a car. The boys watched a movie while MB and I both listened to music and enjoyed the scenery.

After the movie was done Willis was getting a bit antsy, so I gave him Jeff’s camera and told him to have fun! He got some incredible pictures of the others sleeping, etc.

Then, he decided to play a few practical jokes on Jeroen. He managed to find an empty Gin bottle and fill it with water and put it next to Jeroen’s head. He also made a blanket out of toilet paper for him, and stuffed toilet paper in his shoes. Needless to say, Jeroen woke up to all of us staring and laughing at him. He was a great sport about it. It provided much laughter for us all!

Upon arrival in Luxembourg, we were met by 2 of the presenters, who were to take us to the town of Echternach, about 20 minutes from Luxembourg City. Well….we all had been looking forward to seeing a movie all day. So…we asked them if maybe they could take our luggage and come back and get us after the movie. They were all so nice…and of course said yes.

We ventured to an INCREDIBLE movie theater to see Hancock. It was such a great experience. Tons of candy, popcorn and pop for everyone!

I’m not really sure how to describe what happened next, because I ended up in a car with Gene and one of the presenters to head back early to the hotel. I know the rest of the group went and explored the city, and went for a sausage and a beer. I’ll include a few pictures so y’all can see!

We slept in the next morning, and finally left the hotel to find food around noon. We happened upon this café that had the most amazing tomato soup I had EVER tried in my life. They also had crepes and ham sandwiches that were quite yummy!

Jeff and I explored the town, and found a cute little crafts fair where Jeff bought me a very cool antique ring. We also decided to walk to Germany. Yes…we walked to Germany. Granted…Germany was just a 5 minute walk away (across a river and over a bridge.). It sounds quite impressive though, doesn’t it? Jeff then went back to the hotel to rest before the concert.

I decided to go on a walk with MB. We explored the countryside, and saw a few Roman ruins (sorry…I didn’t get a picture!)…and then we rushed back to change for the concert.

The concert was wonderful…yet again! This concert was special though, because I did something I’ve never done before, and probably will never do again. The hall was sold out, so they put chairs on either side of the stage as well. Our tickets ended up being RIGHT behind Jeff’s bell. I looked at MB and Julie and said to them…”Wow…this is going to be a French horn heavy concert.” It was an incredible experience to hear what Jeff actually does in a concert to create what an audience hears in front of his backward-pointed bell. Can you say LOUD!

I also managed to get some incredible pictures from angles that you normally don’t see as an audience member. It was so cool!

So…here we are…on the train again. It’s a 3 hour trip back to Belgium. From Brussels, we all fly to northern England. We’re looking forward to this concert because Lisa, Alex and Tilly…as well and Tony and his friend Rachel will all be coming.

I’ll make sure to write about it and post pictures ASAP. Only 3 concerts to go in the European tour…..

Enjoy the pictures!

Love,
Nina (and Jeff)




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



21st July 2008

Wonderful
I will have to get caught up on your amazing travel experiences...I have been stuck in my classroom packing up 35 years of junk to move to my new school site. But this blog reminds me of the old I LOVE LUCY show where she and Ricky rode their bikes across the border. When Lucy went back to get something, Ricky rode on with their passports and then Lucy was stuck on the other side of the border. It is so strange that you can just walk from one country to another in 5 minutes. Anyway, you two have boundless energy and we are fortunate that you are sharing your joy of life and love of music with your family and the European community.

Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb