Luxembourg


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg » Luxembourg City
April 10th 2011
Published: June 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

A few people had talked to me about my planned trip to Luxembourg and had made the comment that “…everywhere in Luxembourg is hilly…” but it still took me by surprise when I arrived to see the valleys and mountains that appear to make up Luxembourg. Given that it is one of the smallest countries in Europe it sure does have a lot of damn hills!!!

Leaving the train station Luxembourg looked like a normal city and then the bus headed over a bridge and suddenly you could see just how high up you were and just how low down some of those houses were.

Luxembourg was really easy to get around on foot (provided you were fit!) and I found that I had visited many of the key attractions on my first day. What this meant was that my next two days were pretty much free to wander around the city, enjoy the many views and take an opportunity to really relax rather than be rushing around at a hectic pace.

On my first night, I was sitting out on the deck of my hostel enjoying a local beer and found that I was being eaten alive by mosquitos. This in itself is not an odd occurrence with mosquitos normally finding me in a crowd of 10,000 people and gorging themselves sick, however the reaction to their bites was what was worrying. I had terrible swollen bites on my arm, legs, and back that felt as though my skin was going to burst so the next morning I headed off to a local pharmacy to see what pain relief I could get over the counter. The pharmacist was so surprised with my reaction that she was trying to sell me every known cure, I stoically accepted just some antihistamines and antibacterial cream. Unfortunately, weeks later, I still have a lasting reminder of my trip to Luxembourg in the scars that these bites caused 😞





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



15th June 2011

Sorry to hear about your bites
Sounds like they were trying to eat you alive. Glad the pharmacists medicated you. I always get some sort of bites when we travel. We'd like to go to Luxembourg so thanks for the nice blog. I didn't picture it that hilly.
16th June 2011

It's funny, I was amazed at how hilly it was, but hopefully you can see from the pictures that it is absolutely gorgeous and a really great place to have a relaxing visit.

Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb