Luxembourg City 09/2013


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg » Luxembourg City » Walferdange
September 28th 2013
Published: October 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Heeey travellers what's up? Did you heard about Luxembourg?



Maybe yes, maybe not. But that's very normal. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is one of the smallest countries in the world.

If you cannot escape the wanderlust like me, and you don't have unlimited holidays, you will probably take your car and drive to the closest country.

During the week I was thinking " hmm I never went to Luxembourg, why not this weekend".

After driving for 2 hours, I parked my car at the free "park & ride" parking and took the bus to the centre. When you don't know the city, of course you will go directly to the "Tourist office" to get the free city map.

The first monument that I visited was The Gëlle Fra war memorial which means "Golden Lady" or the Monument of Remembrance and is dedicated to the tousands of Luxembourgers during the 1st World War. I was very impressed, by this golden woman.

From this place you have a great view on the Adolph Bridge and on the Old City which is on the Unesco World Heritage List. Pretty good for such a small city.

After this, I had joined the guided tour which is the "Le circuit Wenzel" that I booked at the office. In about 100min the guide explains the 1000 years of the history of Luxembourg.
And all this by feet!!! At the end of the day I was very but very dead.


Le circuit Wenzel:


Palace of the Grand Dukes
William Square
Constitution Square
Pétrusse Casemates
Adolphe Bridge
Viaduct
Bock Casemates
and many more


I definitely recommend this sweet city to the people that are traveling around Europe and the neigborgs of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

I wish to all of you a lot of wanderlust.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Grand Ducal PalaceGrand Ducal Palace
Grand Ducal Palace

Grand Ducal Palace
The CasematesThe Casemates
The Casemates

The Casemates


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb