Hill of Crosses, Lithuania


Advertisement
Lithuania's flag
Europe » Lithuania » Siauliai
July 24th 2009
Published: August 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Lithuania was the only country on this trip that we were passing through and not spending the night. Lithuania was also the only country that I had trouble saying. Daddy wanted to spend some time at the Hill of Crosses as he thought it looked pretty cool. When we arrived, I couldnt believe my eyes, it was a hill that was covered with SOOOOOOOOOOO many crosses. He told me I needed to count them, but I didn't even try. I had daddy buy me a cross so I could leave it there.

On the way from there to Poland, I fell asleep. While I was asleep a Lithuanian policeman pulled daddy over for going 130km/hr in a 90km/hr zone. THe police officer told daddy the ticket would cost 250Euro which is about $350. The policeman nicely said that he would accept 200 Euro or he would have to go to the police station the following day. Daddy talked him down to 40 Euro. When daddy started handing him the money, the officer stopped him and said "dont do that it, this is illegal!" He insisted that daddy had to be careful handing him the money and to do it without lifting it above the window for others to see. Once again, I am glad I was asleep through this dodgy ordeal. I told daddy he should be careful and not drive too fast. Daddy agreed.

And just like that....we were almost in Poland.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



13th August 2009

Siauliai is my hometown. Interesting to see on top of blogs :) And thats very typical Lithuanian police.
13th August 2009

haha, I love reading and checking out the really cool pictures of your trip the cop story was hilarious!
14th August 2009

Such a great blog...I wish I had traveled this much as a child!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb