An Italian comes to Riga


Advertisement
Latvia's flag
Europe » Latvia » Riga Region » Riga
September 1st 2011
Published: September 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The beginning of my journey wasn't easy at all. Once I got to the city with a friend of mine, the hostel which was waiting for us was HORRIBLE. I've been traveling quite a lot and I've seen several places but I've never seen such a creepy hostel. It was at the very top of a building (without lift, but later on we discovered that here in Riga people don't really love lifts). Once we got into bedroom we just had a glance to the beds and to the sheets on the bed. They were totally black. Luckily we weren't alone, there was a latvian girl with us who decided to bring us to her home at least for the night.
The day after I had to fill in a lots of papers for my Erasmus program and in the mean time try to find 1) a hostel for the next days and 2) an apartment for the next 6 months. Who the hell said it would have been easy to find an apartment in Riga? Really, please...don't say that to anyone.
This amazing experience didn't begin in the right way. Not only we had problems with the apartment but also with the hostel since it seemed to exist the Riga "trend". It means that basically everyone this year had felt the need to see this city. Even though I'm more than happy for the tourism, seriously people...those days for me have been awful.
Anyway, someone really wise said that the hope is the last to die...eventually we found a really pretty hostel near the Old Riga and near to my Faculty. The Central Hostel (http://www.centralhostel.lv/) has been literally my home for 2 weeks!! At the end they started calling me with my name and everybody was so friendly and so helpful.
You may now think that finally I found some peace, but that's not my case folks...nope! Remember I told you that we were in two? Well, my friend after 5 days has realized it wasn't the right place for her and she left me here alone. Terrible days guys, terrible...but hey, if i'm still here there must be a reason and actually there's more than one.

After telling you all the bad things that happened to me it might be the time to tell you what is positive about my journey in this particular and cold land but for now I stop here and I'll go to drink a delicious local beer!

I'll keep you posted!

Check this pic out 😉




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb