Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
October 7th 2012
Published: October 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We left Venice to head for Ravenna and Assisi. When we woke in the morning I was very ill. Gastrointestinal something with all the lovely stuff that goes with it. Ange and I ate exactly the same thing the day before and he was fine, so decided it had to be some kind of virus. It was a long bus ride so I just had to tough it out between rest stops. The poor people at the stops had to listen to me wretch. People were very nice though. When they saw how green I was they let me go to the head of the line. When we reached Revenna I stayed on the bus. Ange had to stay with me because they wouldn't leave me on the bus alone. Everyone had a lovely lunch in Revenna and went to the Basilica of St.Apollinaris in Classe. It was good because it gave me a chance to lay down in the back of the bus and take a good nap. So no pictures from Revenna. No pictures from Assisi either except the outside of St. Francis Basilica because it was right next to the hotel. Ange and I got a taxi directly to the hotel where I promptly went to bed and Ange took his own tour of the inside of the Basilica. I felt better by dinner time so went to the dining room but did not eat very much. Then, went right back to the room and back to bed.

When I woke up the next morning I was feeling much, much better. We left for Pompeii and Sorrento. It was a good day. Loved Pompeii. Pompeii was destroyed and preserved by an eruption of Mount Vesuviis in 79 AD. Apparently when the first eruption happened the people had time to run to the sea where they were safe. When they returned home the next day, another eruption and gasses came while they were sleeping and destroyed everything and everyone. Could have spent more time there.

We left Pompeii and arrived in Sorrento at about 2:30 in the afternoon. We cleaned up and took a walk around and later found a good place to eat. It was Angelo's birthday so wanted to find a nice place. Had one of our best meals. We have been somewhat disappointed in the food. Some good, some really not so good. So havring a really good meal was enjoyable. Italians do eat differently. There is a McDonald's or Burger King here and there but no other American fast food (that is not such a bad thing). Italian fast food is fresh and good. Salads, pasta, veggies, fruits and sadwiches. The "take-a-way" counters are everywhere. Most of the cafe's have them. There is also no bottomless cup of coffee or glass of soda. They do love their Espresso.

Today,Oct. 5, we went to the Isle of Capri. It is really beautiful and where the rich and famous like to play. Lots of high end shops and expensive resturants. The guide, however, gave us a few tips on where to go for a good sandwich. We followed his advice and had a really good Ham and Provelone sandwich with tomato and fresh basil. The best part of the day was the boat cruise around the island. Tonight was the Sorrento Flavors dinner. It was fun and good. Tomorrow we go for a drive along the Amalfi Coast and to the town of Positano.

I have put lables on some of the pictures, but most of the pics of Capri are just numbered. I am typing this in Sorrento, but will not post untl we get to Rome tomorrow where I will have free internet. We go to a Holiday Inn near the airport tomorrow because we fly out early the next day for home. We are ready. It has been a very hectic, fast trip. Seems like just when you get used to the pace, it is time to leave. Met a lot of nice people from a lot of different places.

This morning we took the Amalfi Coast Drive to Positano. The drive was pretty exciting because of, well, the Italian drivers. It is a beautiful drive but quite dangerous. Lots of hairpin turns and very narrow road. Positano is a lovely little town. Lots of shops with the most beautiful linen clothes. If only I had $$$$$. We passed the islands called the Three Sirens. Because we left early in the morning for the trip up the coast the traffic wasn't too bad, but on the way down it was a very scary trip. I think the driver turned on age appropriate(i.e. 60s, 70s) music to distract us and it worked because we were all singing all the way down the mountain. Some of the folks on the tour are very funny. They kept us laughing the whole trip.

The Farewell Dinner was really a lot of fun. Lovely resturant in Rome with entertainment. One of the girl singers picked Ange out to serenade. It was very funny. There were three couples on the tour celebrating their 50th anniversary. We had a great time but are ready to get home. European hotel beds are not the most comfortable. Looking forward to my own stuff ;-)

All in all the trip was fabulous. The weather was great. We only had one day where it drizzled off and on in Florance. The people all got along and we had fun together. We don't think we will do another tour anytime soon, but it was an experience. Could have spent two weeks in each place. All it takes is lots and lots of money.

We are now at the Holiday Inn getting ready to leave early tomorrow morning. Unfortunately, there is no internet working in the hotel right now. It is Italy after all. So, unless I can post from the airport, I won't be able to until I get home. I'll let you know.

Obviously, I didn't post until I got home. It will take us about a week to do the laundry and get back to a normal routine.

Tried posting last night but I think my brain was too fried. So, now after 12 hours of sleep 😉 here it is.

Addio Italia

Hello Sweet Home Chicago


Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb