Trieste


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
September 1st 2011
Published: October 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I arrived in Trieste before the sun went down. It was so wierd as I was sat next to some lads I knew from my home city who were going to the Outlook festival in Croatia! There were some other people from my home town behind me too! Small world!! The bus journey from the airport took longer than I thought it would.

I was panicking before I arrived as I didn't have any Euros with me and hadn't topped up my Caxton card (waiting for a more favouable exchange rate), and was relying on being able to pay by credit card. Luckily I was able to pay for my bus ticket by card, so I would think about getting currency later.

It dawned on me that I had forgotten to bring an electrical adaptor. Shit.

On arrival in the city centre I was struck by the beautiful buildings. My hostel itself was situated within one of these such imposing buildings right by the bus station. My dorm was clean and spacious - I would sleep very well here tonight! I dumped my stuff and like the eager tourist that I am I got straight out to do some sightseeing. Well I just wanted some food so I followed my stomach through some streets to the Grand Canal, past the ruined Roman Arena and to a restaurant where I had a dire spaghetti bolognese. I don't know why it is but Italian restaurants in Italy are not great at Italian food!!

I got a fairly early night and slept very well. The next day, after breakfasting on a cream filled croisant I got the ancient looking tram to Opicina where I planned on visiting the Grotta Gigantica. However, it turned out to be more complex than I had anticipated getting there by tram, so I took some photos of the view over Trieste from the hills above it in Opicina, before making the return journey. Back in Trieste I got a bus to Grotta Gigantica.

This was freakin huge. I mean so huge it made me dizzy. It can fit Rome's St Peters' Bascilica in. It was a guided tour that took about an hour. Pretty cool stuff and quite a contrast the coolness inside from the incredible heat outside. It was a nice respite.

Back in Trieste I decided to have another wonder, got a few lovely night shots of the main square




Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0993s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb