The Simplicity of Assisi


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Whenever I travel I try to emerse myself in everything of that culture, the food, the customs, even the language if I can, usually the common phrases you can pick up quick. I always try to learn something new when I travel...probably one of the things I've learned from this trip in New Years, ...aside from the fact that you can not hold a diet in Italy 😊 and that for some reason, it really doesn't feel like New Years unless Im at home (maybe it was the jetlag??) ...is that it's better to live simple but it is also more difficult. What I mean is I guess it takes patience and practice to live simply and humbly, with nothing more than what you need, no excesses. This is what I found in this little town in Assisi. I really fell in loooove with Italy when we visited this town. Millie did too. It reminded us of my grandparents town in Mexico a little, just because you forego the conveniences of modern technology once your here, but thats the charm of this place. The architecture too is incredible...It gets you back in touch with nature and back in touch with yourself.

Also just outside of town is this great charming little bar...or "tavern" as they're called here, called Pennylane Tavern it was beetles themed...Beetles records everywhere, anyways, We went that same night and ordered a typical drink, Rum n' pear , the pear juice was the chaser and it was soooo good. I liked it better than chasing my drink with OJ, which is what's common here in the US. This is something I found fascinating, in a town full of religious places there seemed to be plenty of alcohol n' even absinthe, which I think is illegal back home, booo! But this adds to the greatness of this town, its simple, but there's lots to do here. You can just take a walk, have a drink, and enjoy talking with people, best way to spend a day in Italy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb