Venice - So Good I Did it Twice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
August 19th 1990
Published: October 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

St Marks SquareSt Marks SquareSt Marks Square

St Marks Squired viewed from the boat from the Lido
After a reasonable night's sleep and an ice cold shower - you had to put money in to get hot water - I got the bus-boat back to Venice to check out everything that I had missed last time. Venice is another place where my natural sense of direction would come in handy if I had one. I got hopelessly lost on the way to the station, but who cares, I had plenty of time and it was great to wander round.

I used the last of my lira to buy an ice cream. If I had to pick the Italians two biggest strengths, it would be their dress-sense (obviously) and their ability to make ice cream. It’s another example of where foreign imitations can never come close to the genuine thing, it being their invention and all. I just wish I'd discovered it sooner!

After waiting at the station for a while and chatting to some of the other Inter-railers, I caught a train to Nice.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1865s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb