On the ferry to Greece


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
April 3rd 2010
Published: April 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Self portraitSelf portraitSelf portrait

This is what my shadow looks like on a Greek ferry
After arriving in Verona, I headed straight to Venice. A nice relaxed ride, getting used to the feel of the bike all loaded up.
Let´s get this out of the way right now: I am not the world´s greatest drıver, so any any comments I make about driving ın a country could possibly apply to me as well. I´ll stick to once sentence per country. For Italy: Hmmm, I´m going 50 kph faster than thıs biker and am passıng him with at least 25 cm space between us, that´s not close enough.

Got to the ferry in Venice and got the bike loaded up. No cabbin, but the Greeks run a relaxed ship and everyone just inflated their matrasses to sleep on. At night there was a midnight Easter mass, it was nice to watch the bar filled with Greeks holding candles. The next day the crew had a party on board to celebrate Easter, a good time was had by all :-)

Met an English couple on their way to spend a few weeks wıth a friend who had moved to Greece, and again had some beers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

And my feetAnd my feet
And my feet

Sun, at last!!!


8th April 2010

yer arrival in Verona
Ton ye need tae be puttin us all in the picture wi the miles an hours on the road, C'mon,, havent ye done a blog before,.,, a thought ye wir a puter whizz kid.... on the dusseldorf train,, to verona,, how long was it,, an how many miles where covered.... we snippets o pics of maps wid be a big help wi some highlighter tellin us o your journey...C'mon big man................john
10th April 2010

Propose island hopping
Hi ArtVark, Sounds like an amazing trip. Hope you keep as posted as I am planning something similar during the Summer. Do you suggest any websites for ferry tickets? I have seen www.goferry.gr. They offer online booking and e-tickets at fairly competitive prices. Let me know and keep us updated!
11th April 2010

Cant fınd the bookıng...
For some reason I can't find who I booked through anymore. But I checked serveral sıtes, and the prices are all very close, doesn't make much of a difference. I went with Minoan Lines, for me that was cheaper than Anek. There are a lot more ferries in the summer than April, so you could have more choices then.

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb