Venice! (Venezia, if you're a snob or Italian)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
December 19th 2009
Published: December 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

If there was a city that deserved an exclamation point, Venice would be it. The moment you step off the train station and see the grand canal it grabs a hold of your attention and never lets go. I can still recall that view from visiting in 2002 as if it was yesterday. Venice has that capacity to leave a strong imprint on your senses. Try asking anyone who's been there and you are certain to get the ecstatic response: "Venice! Ooooh I love Venice!"

Thanks to Expedia, the goddess of cheap airfare, John and I are spending the Christmas holiday in Venice and the surrounding region, the Veneto. We plan to do side trips to Padua (of St. Anthony fame) and Verrona (Romeo and Juliet), as well as the island in the Venetian lagoon: Tocello, Burrano and Murano. Above all we are hoping to immerse ourself in the city and experience Natale (Christmas) the Italian way and leave with a lifetime's worth of memories (and lots of pictures).

Ciao!

Advertisement



19th December 2009

can't wait to see pictures...
21st December 2009

Padua
Hi Garret. thanks for your travel update. kakainggit naman! It must be nice to be somewhere else for the holidays and experience how they celebrate Christmas. We would love to try it sometime. Thanks for the Christmas greetings. If you do get to read this before your are in Padua, please get me a small statue of St. Anthony. I gave the one I bought in 2005 to someone who needed it. I'll send you a check including the shipping. We were in Portugal last summer and we've been in the house where he was born. It may be a sign I have to start praying to him more. Thanks. Enjoy your trip. Will look forward to your posts.
22nd December 2009

ENVY
I am so envious of you two being in Italia, and si, e' Venezia perche' sono italiano. :) heehee Garret, change my email to guyponko@comcast.net. I rarely check the one you have added to your blog. I hope you and John and a fabulous time there. Jay and I are slowly discussing and planning our Italian adventure. of course, with me, he gets a daily dose of italian adventure dealing with me. OK, he also get a dose of jewish adventure too. Oy! Buon Natale!
23rd December 2009

Venice is Sounding Great
Hey, thanks for sharing your initial comments. Looking forward to your next update. Merry Christmas!!!!! Paulo/Brucio

Tot: 0.412s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb