Venice, Italy - Day 1, St. Marks Square


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 21st 2007
Published: October 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Aerial View of St. Marks SqAerial View of St. Marks SqAerial View of St. Marks Sq

Ducale Palace, St. Marks Basilica, Piazzetta San Marco...
After enjoying the many colorful calles, canals and the Rialto Bridge we made our way through the Venice maze to the amazing St. Mark's Sq. Immediately we were in awe. I think only being there one can understand the amazing beauty and old world charm this square has.We proceeded to the center where hundreds of pigeons are gathered. At first I was not going to feed the pigeons, but after seeing others having fun and of course Bill begging me to do it. There I was with an arm and head full of Pigeons on me. Honestly this was fun and my fear of being pooped on was laid to rest when I was done. I was lucky no poop to write about. I read if we were pooped on the best tip is to let it dry then brush it off. If you try to wipe wet it will just spread all over. I am thankful I did not need to use that tip.After playing with pigeons we went up in the Campanile Bell Tower for view of Venice and its lagoons. While at the top, we were there for one of the giant bells that rang. Not sure if that was good or bad. It was loud, yet cool to be that close to see it in action.The line was long for St. Mark's Basilica and we were really feeling the jet lag and starving. We still have not had lunch yet. So we depart back to our room and find a small little bar/cafe and had some pizza. After lunch and drinks we headed back to our room for a much needed nap.


Additional photos below
Photos: 83, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Pigeon on my head!Pigeon on my head!
Pigeon on my head!

Yes, this feels weird!
St. Marks Basilica 003St. Marks Basilica 003
St. Marks Basilica 003

St. Marks Basilica is made with pastel marble in shades of greens and pinks, ornate mouldings and features, sculptures and religious artwork.
Close up on doorClose up on door
Close up on door

St. Marks Basilica
Feeding FrenzyFeeding Frenzy
Feeding Frenzy

Pigeons in St. Marks Sq.


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 86; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb