Valpolicella, Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Negrar
March 24th 2014
Published: April 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

" First we went to a couple of wineries. We had lunch at a small place but it was very good. Then we went to 2 other wineries where they know me which was Begali and Speri. Speri in the one I know more. Chiara has a barrel that I went in the first time with my mom when I was only 3 months old. I went there again when I was 5 and took another picture but I was too big to go into the barrel. Now, I could not fit in the barrel, so I just kneeled down next to it. I wanted to take it back. Chiara gave me Speri tape and I put it on my mouth. Then I had to say goodbye and I had to take off the tape. I wanted one more piece, but she gave me the whole roll. My dad bought a lot of wine, because it is Speri. My daddy bought so many bottles from the wineries that I could barely fit in the car.

Then we had another incredible dinner. We had the same pasta that we loved but then.....the night before she told me that she was going to make a pie. But that night she said she ran out, but she was just kidding. She did have strawberry pie and she just made it and I cut the first piece. It was delicious.



Daddy's Comments:

One day of wine tasting in the area of my favorite wine....amarone. We started at a place I had never been, but that I have heard so much about - Quintarelli. We were met by Francesco and after a brief tour, the tasting commenced in a really cool cellar room. The wines were incredible, but unfortunately, incredibly expensive as well. Being that the Valpolicella Superiori current release was Sofia's birth year 2005, I picked up a few bottles that hopefully she will enjoy in many years, and one amarone. Great view from the winery.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Next stop was Busolla. I had been there 9 years prior and had a great tasting, but this time it was no so great (tasting some bottles that were open for 3 weeks, and showed) After small snack we went to the 2 places I have visited on multiple occasions. The first was Begali. and although Tiliana was not there, her brother Giordano who we met many years ago was there for the tasting. He had some wines that Viviani had sent over for me since they were away. Begali makes great amarones, reciotas and a spectacular Corvina-Cab named after the kids/dad - Tigiolo.

The final was my favorite - Speri. I have been a big fan for many years and have always tasted with Chiara. She has seen Sofia at 4 months, 5 years and now at 8 years. She has a daughter Sofia as well. We had a blast there for about 2 hours. Sofia loved seeing the barrel she fit in when she was 4 months and had a blast taking selfies and walking around with Speri tape on her mouth. She also liked wetting her lips with Recioto - sweet and tasted like candy.....After buying a few magnums, a 3liter, and some other bottles, I was done.....about the equivalent of 70 bottles! Now the tough part, how were we going to get them all back safely to the US?......That was thinking for another day, for now, I just had to worry about how it would all fit in the car the next
Me and FrancescoMe and FrancescoMe and Francesco

Quintarelli
day...


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Daddy in HeavenDaddy in Heaven
Daddy in Heaven

Quintarelli


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb