Today it was Tuscany!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany
June 5th 2005
Published: June 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone-Today was another great day. The weather was warm and there was no rain and my cold is much better today.
We sailed into Livorno, Italy, and this is from Mom:
Livorno belongs to the region of Tuscany which incorporates the west coast area of central Italy and includes the culturally significant towns of Florence and Pisa.
We had an organized tour of the region and went to see the Leaning Tower of Pisa which I really thought was great. I looks like it's going to fall over any minute. We took the classic photos of us acting as if we are holding the tower up and trying to push it down, it seems to be the thing to do when you go there! We then went to the Cathedral next to the tower which was built in 1063 and is located at the Piazza del Duomo. It was very beautiful inside the Cathedral and there were several saint's relics there including a skull in a glass case and what appeared to be an entire body in a glass coffin, I found these relics kind of scary and I didn't like looking at them very much, but I looked anyway.
We took a shuttle through the vineyards of Tuscany and I fell fast asleep on the way back to the ship so I missed all the beautiful scenery- too bad😉
Tomorrow we are sailing into the French Riviera and we have a big day planned and an early start since there is a lot to see there. I'll fill you in tomorrow. Our trip is almost over, only a few more days and it's back to the USA!
Note: When we return home we're going to post a few select pictures from the trip to share with you. We are now using the computer that belongs to our suite and can't load the photos on it.
Love,
Michael Conner
Special Notes:
Hi Laraine-great hearing from you again. I know that you are very familiar with Italy, now we can compare notes. Mom says Hi!
Hi Roe-I was very happy to hear you're staying in SH (so was Mom). We didn't want to lose you, YEA!
Hi Jackie N.-thanks for writing! I hope that you are having a great summer. Tell Katie and Kelly that we send our greetings from Europe! Keep in Touch!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb