A Day of Rain


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Siena
July 28th 2011
Published: July 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I think the last time I posted I was about to make dinner (?). Well, it was a success!! So yummy 😊 it was just like being home.

That was Tuesday night. Wednesday was rainy. That's my main descriptor for yesterday. I don't really remember class, since everyday is basically the same, but afterwards I rushed back to the hotel to change and grab an unbrella because rain was in forecast in Siena, then ran back to school where we were meeting to go to Siena. During the walk to where the bus was, it started raining, instead of just random, infrequent drops.

Then we got on the bus. The drive to Siena is SUPPOSED to be a little more than an hour. THREE AND A HALF hours later....we were still eight miles out of Siena. Apparently there had been an accident on the highway in the morning, and they were still cleaning it up at 4 in the afternoon.

When we finally got to Siena, it was raining pretty hard. Most everyone didn't have an umbrella and/or raincoat (I had both, thank you very much), so they were bedraggled, cold and wet. After about 30 minutes the rain stopped, but it was still cold.

We first went to a church dedicated to St. Catherine of Siena, where her head is preserved. Then we went through Siena to the Duomo, where we got a small tour and some quiet reflection time, which I spent pondering all the art and decorations in the cathedral. By that time it was about 7:30 and we dispersed to get dinner.

Dinner. Best. Dinner. EVER. Did you know that Siena has a special pasta noodle? It's called pici. It's delicious. Basically it's fat spaghetti, but infinitely better. Then I had crema catalona, also very yummy.

Then an hour bus ride back and it was bedtime.

Today not much has happened, since midterms are tomorrow and everyone's studying. Butler (my new Mac) won't turn on, so I'm kind of depressed about that (I'm using my friend's Sarah computer). Anybody know how to get it to turn on? If so, email me (my phone gets email) because I would really like my computer to work. And yes, I know I'm in Italy, pining over my computer, but still. He's my baby.

Love you!!!
Rachel

Advertisement



Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb