My Year Abroad


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Montecatini Terme
July 31st 2013
Published: July 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Favorite songFavorite songFavorite song

Let Her Go -Passenger
Does anyone know what day it is?!

It is the one year anniversary of the day I left the US for Thailand. That's right; I have officially been "on the road" for 12 months/52 weeks/365 days. So these are my thoughts and feelings on this past year. Sorry if this isn't a page-turner, and I may even get a little emotional here. But that's part of my travels, too, and it's only accurate if I share it all.



July 31, 2012- I packed all the belongings I could fit into my pack and trusty LL Bean, and said goodbye to family and friends. I left the country with the intentions of spending 6 months to a year teaching English in Southeast Asia. Here is what has happened since that day:

I got TEFL certified. I made new friends from all over the globe. I found a job and a house in Phuket. I enjoyed the island life. I became one of the elusive "expats". I was challenged daily by a language barrier. I discovered what it's like to truly live with your significant other. I educated children so that they may have brighter futures than the generations before them. I struggled with visas and work permits and how to deal with a corrupt government. I got into an accident and forever scarred my face. I got back in shape and achieved my slimmest body shape since high school. I took care of 9 different cats, 6 of which I litterbox trained. I hosted 100 couchsurfers. I realized that just because you love someone, it doesn't mean they are the right person for you. I ended the longest relationship I've ever been in. I watched a marriage crumble that I thought would last forever. I re-evaluated my feelings about marriage and children. I watched my sister blossom from a confused teenager to a fully independent adult in a matter of months, all on her own. I budgeted and saved half of my total earnings, because my parents raised me to be able to take care of myself. I quit a job for the first time. I learned that I know how to stand up for myself when I'm being treated unfairly. I invested money in some that has yet to show me any rewards. I lived, and thrived, in a third world country. I treated myself to more travel. I went to Nepal, on a whim, and got the biggest culture shock I've ever had. I was rudely reminded that sometimes people let you down, and you have to put yourself first. I climbed 4130 m, on my own, without a guide, to walk in the shadows of Earth's tallest mountains. I flew to France and realized my high school language experience didn't hold up in the real world. I ate cheeses I didn't know existed. I hitchhiked my way through Italy and restored my faith in humanity. I gained back all the weight I lost, 90%!o(MISSING)f which I'm sure is pizza. I reunited with a friend from college. I found love in an unexpected place. I learned some Italian, beyond "gelato" and "ciao bella". I thought a lot about what I want to do with my life; I'm still thinking. I worked on my relationships with people, in every form, and began to see things differently (good and bad). I watched friendships and relationships fall apart and was unable to help. I missed birthdays and engagements, promotions and births. I began to question my lifestlye, this desire to travel, and I am still only beginning to understand its core....

To say the least, a lot can happen in a year. Yes, I have been homesick- actually, everday since I left Thailand. It is one thing to be outside the US for a year, to be in countries where English is not the native language and you can't enjoy your creature comforts (food, tv shows, etc). But not seeing your family and friends for an entire year? That is something I never want to do again. For every amazing moment I've had, every scenic view or exciting experience, I have been absent for an important moment in someone else's life. The journey has been great (and will continue to be)- I have no regrets. But I now I know I need a better solution for intertwining my nomadic lifestyle with time spent with loved ones. I am not religious- I don't think anything that has happened to me is a "test". Life is an obstacle course and each challenge, whether passed or failed, provides a lesson. Some of those lessons hurt like a b*tch. But in the end I've come out stronger, I've learned more about myself and my abilities. And I know that these will come with me, on whatever silly adventure it is I decide to take next.



That's my year in review. To those of you I haven't told yet, I will be back stateside this fall. I will make any effort to see as many of you as I can! (Remember you are always welcome to come visit me too....I'm kind of sick of traveling right now!). Hope you enjoyed my confession 😊

Advertisement



31st July 2013

Maps
There is a map on your page with the title of Wanderings. It shows where you have lived and traveled. When did you live in Alaska? or does it just group it with the US? Look how much of the earth is left for you to explore! Your travels will never be over, even if they are not distant. You certainly have had an interesting year. I love you!
31st July 2013

You've experienced and learned in one year...
what others take a lifetime. It's alright to get sick of traveling and going home is wonderful, but at heart you are a traveler. Don't give that up.

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb