Lucky Lucca


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Lucca
September 24th 2007
Published: September 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello! I think the last entry was down in Cagliari, Sardinia. I stayed there for one night - it was pretty good. Found a really good internet cafe where you could get a beer and an hour online for less than 5 euros, AND I found a chinese takeaway! I've really fancied an indian or a chinese since I've been away (takeaway that is!). I think i had the equivalent of Chow Mein and Chicken in Black bean sauce. mmm :O)
Spent the next day there sightseeing...walked for miles! Found an amazing old library full of books from the 1600s - I know I probably sounda bit of a geek for saying this, but found them really fascinating. The guy showing me round got one or two out to show me (- you weren't allowed to touch them yourself), they were all in latin. Got one or two ( or maybe a dozen!) photos on facebook.
What else did I see, oh yeah, this castle looked really good in the distance, so I walked all the way to it, up a flipping great hill, got there and it was shut! Most disappointed! Also went to a Botanical Garden. It was ok but i think most of the plants had gone over, probably would've been better a few months ago.
Late afternoon, I decided to go to Iglesias. Not too sure why, just because I liked the sound of it I guess. I thought I'd hire a car there to drive up the coast - the public transport isn't great after August in Sardinia.
Anyhow, when I got there, I went to the Tourist info place and they recommended me a b&b in the town. It was more like a homestay. The lady there was really funny......and really tiny! She probably came up to my chest. She couldn't speak any english, I think she was actually Spanish. Her boyfriend could a bit though. She really couldn't do enough for me. When I asked where a supermarket was, she said she'd change her dress and walk me there! She loved the fact that I was born in Kuwait as well for some reason. When I gave her my passport, the boyfriend asked where Ahmadi was and I said, and she started waving her hands in the air like she was at a football match and they'd just scored and started hugging me! Really a bit odd. Her boyfriend said she could tell all her friends! strange, obviously not much going on in Iglesias! She was really nice though. I thought maybe she wouldnt leave me alone all evening, but when we got back from the supermarket she left me to it...which was a bit of a relief! bless her!
Anyway, next day, the car hire thing worked out quite expensive - 240 euros for 3 days and to leave it in Olbia, so I decided to go back to Cagliari n see if it was cheaper. No luck in Cagliari, so I caught the train back out to Oristano.
Oristano was lovely. I stayed in a fab b&b there right on the main square. It was in a really old building, but had been done up really nicely. It was really quiet there again though. I wanted to see the beaches (withdrawl symptoms setting in!) so I decided I'd hire a scooter the next day. Oh my god, it was quite a giggle. Started off with the guy in the shop not speaking too much english. So I got there and he's showing me the bike and I ask if it's 2 stroke. He didn't understand so I was trying to say do you need 2 stroke mixer to go with the petrol. Well I think he thought i meant do I put engine oil in the petrol tank! Poor guy, no wonder he looked a bit concerned as I drove off! :O) They leant me an open face helmet, which looked pretty incredible with my sunglasses, I have to say! Whacky races here I come! Check the photos on facebook if you want a giggle!
Off I went on my mean machine, (not quite Herman Munster!) I was quite amazed at how quickly it could pull away for a 50cc! Unfortunately it was only the takeoff which was quick! top speed of 70ks. It was a giggle though and it did give me a sense of independance n freedom for the day. it did cut out a couple of times which was a wee bit worrying but it was fine after the first couple of hours. Drove all the way up the coast from Oristano to Putsu Idu beach which I guess was about 60ks away. Managed to get to 3 beaches - Is Aruttas, Mira something or other, n Pitsu Idu. After that I went back to the beach by Tharros which was pretty local to Oristano. Went to the beach first - bit too late to sunbathe, but had a bit of a paddle! Then went to Tharros. Got there at 20 to 7 and it closed at 7 but they still wanted to charge me full price to get in. The lady kind of suggested I could just walk round the perimeter fence and would be able to see just about all of it, so I ended up doing that.....stingy old bugger, i know!
Climbed up the tower next to Tharros (they have these old lookout towers everywhere, most are pretty delapidated but some are still all there) n watched the sun go down and then drove back to Oristano. The traffic was pretty hectic by this time (life starts in the evening over there) and was pretty glad to make it back to the square where I was staying in one peice! They're not very patient over there, got beeped at from all angles!
Next day, I'd decided to head back to the mainland. Sardinia was really nice, but really quiet. I think its a place for couples really. Also not too many people speak English so had started talking to myself by this point!
Got the overnight boat back from Olbia back to Civitavecchia. Decided to go for a 2nd class armchair seat (like a recliner) this time, but when I got on the boat the 2nd class was shut n they let us all in the 1st class! Pretty good I thought ....not so! Think i'd have been more comfortable in the lounge on one of the sofa things! There was some pretty horrendous snoring going on in there too! Managed to finish my book though!
Got the train up to Pisa the next day and spent the day there. Met a couple of really nice Italians there in this pizza place. The girl had done some travelling and had been to India so that was really good to hear about. Pisa was really nice actually. The tower's really funny. There's not much else there apart from the tower and the cathedral, but it's got a really nice feel to it.
Then got the train on to Florence. Oh my god, it was packed. 2 hostels I went to were full up which I havent found anywere so far. The internet is really cheap though - about a euro per hour, & there are tons of chinese restaurants! Apart from that, its all churches and art! I know a lot of people love it there and rave about it, but I wasn't really that impressed. I think maybe I just wasn't in the mood for the crowds n queues. I only spent one night there and didn't do any sightseeing as I really couldn't be bothered to queue! Also, I kindof feel like I've seen enough churches, paintings and sculptures to last me a lifetime! Needless to say, one night was enough! Wasn't too sure where to go to next so just went to the train station to see what trains were leaving. Choices were Rome, Bologna or Lucca. Kind of liked the sound of Lucca, sounded a bit like lucky....lucky Lucca! Anyhow, here I am. Found a fab hostel in an old school building. Really big rooms. Met a couple of nice girls here from Singapore. It seems like a really nice town too. Much smaller than Florence! Much cheaper too - did I mention I'd paid 7 euro for an icecream in Florence? It wasnt that big either...not by my standards anyway! :O)
Also found an internet cafe which will upload my photos to facebook. Pretty lucky so far....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb