And I was re-born ....


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
October 30th 2010
Published: June 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Gosh... things start to get hazy in my memories with multiple trips that go back for while....btw 2007 and end of last year... mulitple cities and places start to get all muddled together in my brain. Hence, the whole purpose of blogging for me. When I look back, I want a reminder as to why I am grateful for the opportunities that came my way... and Italy was definately a repeat joy... unmuddled... and crystal clear reminder.

My first trip to Italy, I visited Rome. There I discovered how to truly enjoy meals. Everytime I was in Italy, I ate spaghetti Bolegnase, or any type of variation of bolegnase. Sometimes, I would eat 2 portions because they weren't large enough. =). I would eat bolegnase for lunch and for dinner and my other entrees. After all, I was in Rome/Italy and I couldn't afford not to taste everything. I must have gained 15 lbs just being in Italy... especially Rome. I had to travel often to Milan but for some reason, bolegnase was just not easy to find as it was in Rome. So when ever I went to Rome, I had my bolegnase. If I was stressed out, I had bolegnase. If I couldn't sleep, I ordered bolegnase. If I stressed out that I couldnt sleep to get on the time zone, I ate bolegnase. If I was in Milan and couldn't find my bolegnase, I ate any type of spaghetti that had sauce that resembled meat and red sauce. It became a ritual that everytime I met with colleagues in Rome, they would automatically just order bolegnase for me. If I started to stress out in a conversation, I was hit back with a response "Ann you are hungry and tired, let's go get some bolegnase."

Bolegnase and caprese. I was in heaven.

Rome, for me, is more "romantic" than Paris. The ancient ruins are surrounded by people in a hurry or running about in the epicenter of life. It's difficult to stay in a country, or such a city as Rome and be in a bad mood for long. For me, I was also constantly reminded of God with the nuns from different orders bustling about. Almost, I felt like I was sinning if I was frustrated or angry about something and saw a nun walking quickly going about her business. I could never find a complaint with the weather, nor the food, nor the Italian people and culture. I found that Italians may have an occasional quick temper but I soon found it was due to being so passionate about life. It could be food, it could be their family, it could be their lover but rarely were they frustrated long about a work issue. I was often recommended to just take a walk and enjoy the weather... or visit an ancient ruin, or get some gelato.

Anyway, I digress.... so Italy, I loved Rome, surrounding islands and I loved Florence. I enjoyed life in Tuscany during the period of Oct 2010 in particular. In Florence, I loved the wine. I loved the lush green scenery of Florence, the "castles" and the shopping outlet called "The Mall". I would have to say that if anyone could be re-born, it would be in Italy. In Italy, I learned to relax a little more. Ate a little more. Drank a little more. Breathed a little more. Slowed down and appreciated people a little bit more. Also, definately shopped a bit more. =). I think Italy is the only place where I gathered herbs, wine, balsamic vinegar, or olive oil to be shipped home to NY just so that I could linger with Italy a little bit more than the time that I had...

I think if a person desires to be "re-born" when s/he lost her/his way, Italy would be the place to go. After all, all the great artists in history seem to have an Italian heritage, or at least the great ones found themselves on a pilgramage to Italy. Caravaggio, Michelangelo, Bellini, Botticelli, Donatello and of course the great DaVinci all had their inspirations, or found their muse to create masterpieces... in Italy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb