I'm lost, hungry, and need to pee- Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
December 8th 2008
Published: December 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sadness, this is my last blog entry dealing with traveling... It's finals week, and I'm procrastinating. What a great way to procrastinate.

Yesterday, I took a day trip to Florence. I was there for a whole 4 hours, but I was there. I had a lot of great plans that were never completed. I had plans to go to the Galleria dell' Academia. However, I waited in line at the Uffizi for an hour before I was let in, and that was with a reservation. So, I never got to see the David. I was going to go to the top of the Duomo. However, because it was Sunday, the church was closed. So what did I do?

I went to the leather market. My friend who I traveled with just wanted to shop. So, I went to the leather market with her for about 40 minutes. I had no intention of buying anything. However, I walked out of that leather market with a genuine leather Italian hand crafted purse- only 50 euro, which is about 65 bucks which I feel is a completely fair price for such a thing. It smells glorious, and is the traditional Italian leather color-ooooh.

So, then I began my walk to the Uffizi. Whatever road I took seemed to take me in the opposite direction of where I wanted to go. I was also very hungry considering it was about 2 PM, and I hadn't had anything since breakfast. I also really needed to pee. Wandering the streets of Florence, I was a little bit miserable. I finally found the Uffizi. I waited in 3 separate lines with my reservation for an hour still having an empty stomach and full bladder. They also made me dump out my water. Lame. I'm sorry I'm not going to be an art terrorist and throw my water on the painting. Anyway, I get inside and go to look for a bathroom. I find the bathroom with a line out the door. I see some women going into the men's room. So, I do the same. Then, 4 men get in line behind me. I feel uncomfortable and give up on the whole bathroom thing. So, I walking around the Uffizi with people practically molesting me so they can see a Rafael. It really made me miss the Louvre which was too big. The Uffizi had thousands of people there, and it's the off season, wtf? On my way to finding Caravaggios, I find a bathroom that does not have a long line- thank god! Then, I was able to enjoy the museum. I saw some Rafael, Caravaggio, Da Vinci (only sort of because of the 2 enormous Japanese tour groups), Perugino, Duhrer. So, I feel since I got to see 5 great artists instead of just Michelangelo at the Galleria Dell' Academia, I feel I made the right choice.

So, I met up with my friend at the Duomo, and we headed for the train station. In process, we basically got mauled by the 5 million people in Florence that day, again wtf???? So, we get to the train station, and I still haven't eaten. It's about 4:45, and I'm hating life. So, I see a McDonalds and go there- only 4 more days where I can eat McDonalds, then back to the US where I don't eat fast food. I'm in line and these 3 Italian people try to cut me. If they did, I would have turned into a first class American bitch and given them a piece of my mind. Thankfully, the woman behind the corner said that I was there first, and it was my turn. Finally, someone nice in Florence! So, I got my food and got on the train and went home.

So, my Florentine experience was not what I was looking for. However, I understand that Florence actually doesn't suck. So, I hope that maybe some day I can go back and actually see the David and the Duomo. And get the apparently fabulous gelato they have there. And be able to find a bathroom.

Ciao for now!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb