Cefalu


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sicily » Cefalù
September 14th 2010
Published: September 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

CefaluCefaluCefalu

medievel town
After having absolutely zero sleep on the ultra uncomfortable night train, I found my hostel and then went straight back to the train station to go to Cefalu to get some more use out of my interrail pass.

Cefalu is the second most popular beach resort in Sicily after Taormina. The sky was murky, but I perservered up the mountain trail to get near to the summit of La Rocca on which sits the medievel ruins of Tempio di Diana from the 9th century BC. Then the heavens opened as I suspected they would and it started to bucket it down! I was there in my silly floaty summer dress and silly slippery sandals trying to find shelter. I eventually found a little bit of shelter in a ruined alcove but got bored and wanted to get completely out of the rain and to the train station, so I cautiously made my way back down La Rocca, and broke my sandal in the process!

I had a gelato before heading back

On a bright sunny day this place would be ideal, but still second to Taormini


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

my ruin sheltermy ruin shelter
my ruin shelter

the rain was relentless
CefaluCefalu
Cefalu

from La Rocca


Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb