July 13th - Pasta will cure all that ails you


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Turin
July 26th 2012
Published: July 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Torino lifeTorino lifeTorino life

from the balcony of Diana's apartment
July 13th:
Nope, still sick. I texted my friend Diana in Torino and asked her about getting an appointment with a doctor there, she said she'll take me to the ER... works for me, 4 or so days of stomach cramps and no food seems enough of an emergency to me!

Stayed in the hotel room till checkout then went and got some fruit (hopefully that is being kind to my stomach) and headed to the park... so frustrating to be surrounded by all these delicious foods and not be able to partake!
The train ride was hot and unventillated, as Diana suggested it would be. Yet again it was just so nice to have someone come and meet me at the station ad tell me where to go so that I could just switch my brain off! We went for a wander around Torino, saw the biggest square in Europe, Roman ruins, and the "bad part of town." I was feeling less pain so we decided to give ER a miss and instead have a good talk (with Diana translating) to a pharmacist. I have pills, hopefully they work!

After this we went back to Diana's apartment for
Royal PalaceRoyal PalaceRoyal Palace

ah yes, but does it have wi-fi?
some tasty pasta with a sprinkling of parmesan and conversation, then one of Diana's flatmate's returned with her boyfriend and we had a pleasant chat where I used up probably all of the Italian language at my disposal, there was cake (which I didn't eat too much of because I didn't want to take too many risks with my stomach. There were some old Italian songs floating up from a lower apartment which added a nice ambience and led the others to tell me about a newish band who reinterpret a lot of older songs into ska sort of style (called giuliano palma & the bluebeaters in case you want to investigate) they're pretty good.

Finished up with a bit of booking ahead, Verona more expensive than I'd like (no hostels, only hotels) but then that's mainly because it's a double room and they make you pay for 2 people. Slovenia was a bit more reasonable... but again it's a hostel so you'd hope that it would be cheaper!

Hoping again to not still be sick when I awake tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb