The Last Supper


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Ivrea
September 29th 2012
Published: September 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ciao belli ragazzi,

Well tomorrows the big day of my move to Feltre!! Spent my last week in Ivrea eating cake, cake and more cake with Jo (the housekeeper) really going to miss both her and Adri who comes in the afternoons, as we all keep each other sane and cover for each other if needs be. Jo even bought me a little leaving present, which was really nice of her.

Went to Balla with Jo twice this week and had the ‘Torta 900’ again, it’s soooo good. If I had discovered it 5 months ago when I first moved here I would definitely be morbidly obese by now.

Looking forward to a new area, new people and new challenges. Although I did Google Street Map my new address and found that it’s in the middle of a field with only a Lidl and a bank 20 minutes walk away. Let’s just say it’s going to be a long 6 months!

It will be sad to leave here though, the girls are quite sweet, when they’re not arguing over whose omlette has the most cheese on it (true story), and it’s nice to see how much their English has improved since I’ve been here (plus I managed not to kill any of them).

When I first arrived I said to the youngest one “nice to meet you” and she said to her mum “what’s she saying I don’t understand anything she says” (but in Italian obviously), but the other day she read ‘The 3 Little Pigs’ to me all by herself in English, such a massive improvement!! I even overheard the oldest one saying to her friend the other day that I’m like her big sister. Would have been a really sweet moment if one of the other girls hadn’t thrown up all over the kitchen floor, whilst the dog was trying to eat said sick.

Not much else to report this week all I’ve been doing is packing, cleaning and sleeping, so I’ll leave you with some last pics of Ivrea. Haven’t spoken to ‘The Italian’ in 4 weeks, (so much for that great romance) and I’ll probably never see him again now. To be honest, I’m not even bothered that I didn’t say goodbye to him, relationships with people from different cultures/countries are really hard because there’s too many differences (not to mention language barriers).

Started to develop a cold, which I hope will be gone by tomorrow, already got a 6 hour train journey with 8000 bags to look forward to, so could do without the sneezing, coughing and throwing up on top of that.

Tonight is my last night in Ivrea and the Italian family have decided to throw me a leaving party and they made all my favourite foods for dinner. To start with we had pesto pasta, then hamburgers and salad and for desert, of course, we had all my favourite flavours of gelato. The mum said to me that before I return to London next year, they would like me to visit them again and that if I have any problems to get straight back on a train, as my room will be here waiting for me. It was really sweet they also bought me leaving presents (a bag from the Italian family and matching gloves from the grandparents), then the kids put on a dance show which was hilarious. To top it all off we watched High School Musical 3 and the dad even sang along! Perfect evening, think I should leave more often!!

That's ciao for now. I’ll post again once I’m settled in Feltre to let you know how I’m coping as a country bumpkin…


Goodbye Ivrea!!







Soph







XxX




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0862s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb