Friends With Benefits


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Ivrea
September 2nd 2012
Published: September 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello World,

Well it's been a rainy week in Ivrea and four weeks today I'll be on the train to Feltre!

This week I went to a patisserie called 'Balla,' which is quite famous because of a chocolate cake they created called the 'Torta 900!' (Probably not as menacing as it sounds). I had a selection of 4 little cakes, which were delicious. I was going to take a photo for you all to see but my phone ran out of battery, so will have to go back again another time to take a picture (the things I do for you people!), but I have included on here a picture of the wrapper my cake was in.

This week I've been having some wisdom teeth problems again, so went to see The Italian's dad, as he is a dentist. He said I will have to have them all removed at some point, at a cost of 150 Euros per tooth, if I do it through him. Annonyingly I can't claim the money from my travel insurance, because this problem was from before I left for Italy. I could go through the Italian NHS, but I don't know how long I'd have to wait and also there's the language problem. So all-in-all I've decided to wait till I come back to the UK at some point.

I have to say though The Italian really came through for me on Friday, not only did he sort out the appointment for me, but he collected me and took me to the surgery and translated for me. His dad (bless him) kept his surgery open especially for me (as he's normally closed on Friday afternoons) and he didn't charge me for the appointment. I have some anti-bacterial cream I have to put on my wisdom teeth, twice a day after brushing and so far it seems to be working. Was my first time seeing him for 4 weeks, because I was in London and he was in Barcelona, so was a bit awkward. We went for a drink after to say thanks and he told me he has given up smoking and was thinking of moving to England for a bit.

Later that night, I sent him a text to say thanks again and he replied saying "No problem! It was a pleasure 😊 Tell me if you need something. Have a good night x." Not really too sure what to make of this complete change in attitude since he's been to Barcelona. Maybe while he was away he realised what a catch I am?! (Only joking...) My mum reckons he's looking for somewhere to stay for free, but I wonder why all of a sudden he's stopped smoking. Oh well another one of life's great mysteries...

We're supposed to be driving back to the grandparent's beach house tomorrow, but not sure if that's going to happen or not because the weather forecast is bad there next week and also the mum's car is broken, so we have to wait to see what the mechanic says tomorrow. But my fingers are crossed the trip is cancelled, really can't be bothered with the 8 hour drive!




Anyway will let you all know what happens,




Soph




XxX



Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb