'Hylophobia' – Fear of Forests


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Ivrea
August 19th 2012
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well all it's 6 weeks today till I move to Feltre for familglia numero due,

Can't believe that this time last week I was on my way back from London, feels like months ago now.

It was Margherita's birthday this week so we had a little dinner party for her. What I found really strange was that the parents and grandparents also gave presents to the other girls, I guess so they didn't feel left out. But the real world isn't fair, so they should probably get used to it now to be honest as it will save on all the dissapointment in later life!

I was also treated to a cheeky little mid-week day-off on Wednesday as it was some kind of Italian holiday called Ferragosto or Assumption Day. Can't say I did a lot to be honest, spent most of it sitting on my arse reading 'Fifty Shades of Grey.'

Some of you may be wondering what my title is all about, well on Friday afternoon I set off for my usual 45-50 miunte lap around the lake. Once before with The Italian and some of his friends we took the forest route round, so me being the idiot that I am thought why not do it again, it's in the shade of the trees so will be cooler and it can't be that hard to find my way through the forest, I'll just try and recognise some things from last time. Well two hours and an amazing 30 minutes later I arrived back at the house.

It was all going so well to start with, but I must have taken a wrong turn somewhere and ended up in a neverending forest. I quite enjoyed it at first, being all alone with nature and my ipod, but as the path went on and on with no sign of ending I started to feel a bit claustrophobic and worried I might not actually ever get out. But there was no way I was going to die without seeing Glee Season 3, so I kept going, eventually emerging on a main road somewhere and had to follow the bus stops back to Ivrea. Safe to say it's the last time I go ANYWHERE unaccompained by an adult, especially a wooded area.

Yesterday (Saturday) spent the day at the Lake with the mum and the kids catching up on some much needed Vitamin D, after lunch we went on a massive pedalo ride around the lake, my legs were so sore afterwards, especially considering the massive trek I'd been on the day before.

Also aparrently we're going back to the beach for the 1st week of September, just me, the mum and the 4 kids. Yep you read that correctly 4 kids, as one of them is bringing a friend! Pray for me another 8 hours in the car each way!!

This week I've been stepping up the fitness regime in an attempt to get rid of the 3kg that I've put on since I arrived. For some reason though the more I exercise the more shit I want to eat, so probably still at the same weight, if not more.

Anyway that's about it this week, The Italian's still in Barcelona and I haven't heard from him for 2 weeks so he's probably died in some kind of orgy related incident. Also I finished my Italian lessons this week, so now I'm studying solo (or attempting to), already looking for schools in Feltre as I desperatly need to make some frewnds.




More next week,




Soph




XxX



Advertisement



Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb