My Weekend in Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Ivrea
May 13th 2012
Published: May 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello again!

This weekend was my first proper one in Italy and I was very busy. On Saturday after I finished work at 1.30pm, Ashley and I went to see a classic car show that was happening near where I lived. It was very humid so after we thought we would treat ourselves to a gelato as we had cycled there! Nom nom nom!

Today we went to Turin which has a lot of random things to do and see (including the 'Museum of Fruit'?!). It was cold, grey, windy and wet, so we hid in the museum of cinema which was quite interesting. It shows how films, the way we know and love them today, have come to be from the very first moving picture. Inside the museum there is also a scary lift which looks like it is hanging in mid-air and you take it all the way to the top of the tower so you can see all over Turin. Luckily it was not as bad as the Eiffel Tower!

After a week of searching, we finally found a McDonald's! Can't wait to try some Italiano style chicken nuggles!

Then we managed to get the train home all by ourselves, including having to change trains mid-way. It was a lot less painful then my bus experience, it helps to have someone else to be lost in translation with. I'm glad I have someone else I can speak normal English with, when I am with the family I have to constantly concentrate on how I phrase things and make sure that the words I use are easy to understand, so when I am with other English speaking people I find it difficult to remember how to speak like a normal person again.

We also have lots of fun making fun of things, such as how the Italians are obsessed with English words but they use sentences/phrases that don't make any sense as if they have just picked some random words out of a hat and put them together. Some of our favourites are; a restaurant called 'one apple,' a bar called 'happy day,' and my all time fav is a boy wearing joggers that had 'sweet life New York' written across the bum! Random!

More next week,




Soph




XxX




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb