Such a Day!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Marche » Urbino
July 12th 2011
Published: July 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, I had my mid-terms today, and they weren't too bad.

So right now my electricity keeps going on and off without any reason....my roommate's currently freaking out about it in the shower.

Anywho, we went to Roman ruins this afternoon. I think I can honestly say I have never sweated that much in my life. It was well above 90 (I know y'all Texans don't think that's bad, but just wait) and not a cloud in the sky. Even the Italians were uncomfortable. On top of all that, the ruins weren't very good. Maybe I've been spoiled by the Roman ruins in Rome, but these were just a jumble of rocks (some of which used to make the public bathroom, sadly the only easily identified room) and a Medieval skeleton. There was no shade, the sun was relentless and any water was either consumed in seconds or hot.

Then we got on the not air conditioned bus and drove to a winery for a wine tasting. I can now definitively say that I don't like wine. I swirled, sniffed and sipped first a white, then rosé and finally a red, and proceeded to covertly pour each into the grass. But then came the olive oil, which is also made by the wive company. So. Good. We took a short tour of the grapes and fermenting area, then cleaned out the winery's store.

Once everyone had gotten their wine, oil, honey, and/or pasta, we returned to Urbino for dinner and the night.

Love,
Rachel

Advertisement



Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb