The Duomo


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
April 16th 2012
Published: April 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Short entry today. No rain and a bit warmer.

We both slept in, ate a leisurely breakfast in our loft on Via Lancetti, and then rode the tram into the center of Milan to see the Duomo and an art museum of 20th century Italian artists. Very leisurely day. I left the memory chip to my camera in my computer in the loft and couldn’t take photos.

Sally took a couple for me and I copied a couple from internet sites. I tend not to take photos of stuff that’s readily available on the internet, so it didn’t matter too much that I left the chip. Sally took a couple photos for me, one of a past cardinal of the Duomo, Carlo Borromeo, for whom the church my relatives in Missouri attend was named. The writing in the photo is in Italian, but the name Borromeo is prominent in it.

Sally also let me take a photo of something you won’t see on the internet, a crane inside the Duomo with a cherry picker carrying a person up to perhaps make a repair, change a light bulb, or clean something.

The photo of the Duomo was taken by Sally from the 5th floor of the Museo del Novecento (20th Century museum) that had many floors of works by Italian artists, after a tiny room with a few paintings by Mondian, Klee, Kandinsky, Picasso and Modigliani that blew our minds before we even started. You can see a reflection of the museum's glass windows in the corner of the photo of the Duomo. My favorite piece in the museum was a bronze statue by Boccioni called “Unique Form,” but seeing the Duomo from higher up was also a real treat.

Tomorrow, our last day in Milano, is devoted to seeing the Pinocoteca Ambrosiana Museum with a Leonardo Da Vinci exhibit and then going to the opera in the evening. I’d say we saved the best for last, but it’s all been good.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



17th April 2012

Crane in Cathedral
Great shot! Looking forward to hearing about the Opera and the patrons - I've heard Italian audiences are very interactive.
24th April 2012

The Duomo
The Duomo looks breathtaking! It blows my mind to imagine human beings creating something so spectacular and detailed.

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb