Ago, Filo e Nodo


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
April 28th 2012
Published: April 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Liviana took me to explore Milano and it is absolutely a spectacle. Ancient buildings are intermixed with the freshest stores offering the newest fashions. I think you could walk around for hours and still not see all there is to buy!

We went to a lovely castle called <em style="font-weight: bold; font-style: normal; color:� font-family: arial, sans-serif; line-height: 16px; font-size: small;">Castello Sforzesco which had cats runnign around it! Lovely place, now it houses a school and library and museum.

We looked through the classy department store and judged all of the designer bags from Valentino to Chanel. They only carry up to a size 6 in designer clothes here. If you're bigger, you can shop at the lesser stores I guess :/ Everything in the city center is beautiful, pristine, classy, and expensive. I even saw a jar of olive oil that cost over 200 dollars!



The butcher shops have every kind of meat you can imagine. The proscutto is still on the leg, with the hoof attached! I had some that was 4$ for just 4 pieces but it was really yummy and totally worth it. I also had this weird stringy cheese it was weird but good. It's called something that sounds like... spagiolla? I don't know my italian is pretty crappy but improving.



The Duomo (Cathedral) of Milan is one of the most beautiful I've ever seen. It took over 200 years to build because all of the marble had to be brought in. It's vast and verticle and reminds you of the graceful spires of heaven. Inside and out, every surface is decorated and pristinely preserved -- this is because the company that got the original commision still looks after the church.

We went to mass so that we could see a different part of the church and Liviana tried to convince me to take communion. She's SO BAD I love hanging out with her she's an adult but acts however she wants --- such a rebel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb