Fascinating!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
May 6th 2011
Published: May 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Basilica di Sant'Ambrogio
Today as it turns out would be a greatly interesting day in Milan. I was looking forward to coming here but there is also a part of me that added Milan just as a stopover between Torino and Venice. I sort of needed a halfway point. There were a few things that I wanted to see but nothing that I had been greatly looking forward to unlike some of the other places that I have as part of this itinerary. Well Milano has surprised me! It was just a fascinating day … well for me anyways.

My day started with a quick “colazione” or breakfast (see learning new words every day …) and a lovely chat with the owner of the hotel. She is the one who greeted me so warmly yesterday. The hotel has only been in existence for a year … it is just lovely I do have to say. She asked if I wanted coffee and I said yes so she proceeded to start making me a cappuccino. There was another guest of the hotel who seemed to be quite persistent with whatever it is that he wanted. This poor woman seemed a little bit at her wits end with him (which she later told me she was!!) which led her to be distracted. This meant that the steamed milk for my cappuccino was quickly forgotten about and started frothing and overflowing every which way. She ran in screaming mamma mia and looking at the heavens, waving her hands and mumbling to herself about “Dio” … just the typical reaction that I would have expected!!

My first stop of the day would be the Basilica di Sant’Ambrogio. This church dates back to the 4th Century. It has obviously been restored and little of the original structure remains. It is dedicated to Saint-Ambrose who is buried here. I saw him … literally … his skeleton is in the crypt (with two of his martyrs alongside him). There’s an image that will stick with you for a while!!

I would then walk over to the Chiesa di Santa Maria della Grazie. In one of the buildings adjacent to this church is actually one of the most famous paintings in the world … The Last Supper. It is actually a mural and there is a way to visit it. It is something that needs to be booked well in advance. I opted against it although it must be quite something to see. When I arrived near the church I saw another gathering of military. I seem to attract them … just like there are always firemen doing their groceries when I go to Loblaws!! As it turns out, they were gathering for a military funeral.

So I continued my trek over to the Castello Sforzesco. This castle was originally a fortress and eventually became the home to the Sforza family. What I learned later on in the day is that portions of this castle were actually designed by Leonardo da Vinci. The castle is now home to a series of small museums which you make your way through on the same ticket. There was one room with ruins and artefacts, another with armours and different arms, one covering the stone age and the incredibly interesting one covering Egyptian artefacts. There were sarcophagus and a real mummy. There was even an accompanying x-ray to show that there was actually a human inside there!! There was also something called the “Book of Death” which was put in the coffins and that the words written would help the dead in
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

Basilica di Sant'Ambrogio
their other lives. These were written on papyrus in hieroglyphics … fascinating to see! And that it survived all of this time is beyond amazing.

BUT … the highlight for me was the two temporary exhibits. The first was called Michelangelo – Ultimo. It contained a series of his drawings and writings that were done near the end of his life. They were so faint and delicate. It is a miracle that these still exist today. The other temporary exhibit was called Michelangelo – Architecto. These were a series of drawings done by Michelangelo on some of his most well known architectural works. It included drawings for the cupola of Saint Peter’s Basilica in Rome and a number of churches in Florence like Santa Maria del Fiore, Basilica San Lorenzo and Santa Maria Maggiore. I’ve noted them down because I will be in Florence shortly and will definitely pay closer attention to the details!! There were also some current photographs of these places. What was interesting were the video displays that showed the drawings made by da Vinci which were then converted to architectural drawings which were then converted to three dimensional renderings. I loved loved loved loved it!!

Just behind the Castello is Parco Sempione. I took the time to stroll and just have a quick snack. There is a pond in the middle with ducks and turtles that I just always love watching. Then there were the locals and tourists alike doing just as I was doing ... meandering aimlessly about. The weather was perfect for it too.

My last stop (and one where I would actually spend a better part of the day) was the Museum of Art and Science. This was something I found on the internet and was not listed in my guidebook. It’s a relatively small museum and it’s a little … mmm I don’t know what the word is. It’s a little dated and probably in need of an overall but it doesn’t take away that the exhibition itself is actually really fascinating. It has a small section dedicated to the works done by Leonardo da Vinci while he was in Milan. But the bulk of the museum is dedicated to showing the techniques used in determining how works of art or antiques are determined to be authentic or copies. It is an interactive museum so each section has a
Photo 7Photo 7Photo 7

Entrance to the bookstore at Basilica di Sant'Ambrogio
“testing station” which has you looking into magnifying glasses or waiving blacklights in front of stuff. I felt like I was in an episode of CSI! Some of the details that determine that something is a fake are sometimes so minute that you have to wonder how anyone would even be able to tell the difference. But there is a diffence. The family that founded this museum also has an extensive collection of Buddhist and African art. The African art exhibit was closed but I did get an eyeful with the Buddhist exhibit. It took me coming to Milan to come home with a bunch of photos of Buddhas!

So tomorrow I am heading to Como for the day. I made a quick stop to the central train station to buy my tickets. Problem is … there are no times or dates indicated on them. Mmmm …odd ... I picked a specific time when I was buying them (one which I can't seem to remember right about now). I guess I need to look up a timetable on the internet!!

Ciao!



Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Red Vespa!
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Chiesa di Santa Maria delle Grazie
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

Guarding the Entrance to Chiesa di Santa Maria delle Grazie
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Castello Sforzesco
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

Castello Sforzesco
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

Astronomical Clock - Castello Sforzesco
Photo 32Photo 32
Photo 32

Castello Sforzesco


16th May 2011

Yes, a fascinating day! The art installation is unusual to say the least:) The park looks so peaceful. And the Buddhas...beautiful, of course!
3rd June 2011

Travelling solo
Hi there Caroline, Wow so inspired by your blog . I am visiting a friend in europe and meeting some friends already travelling .I mapped out a route I would love to do and seems more than a little scary .But encouraged by how empowering it must be and gratifying.My dream escapade is from Lucerne to Milan , Milan to Verona , Verona to Venice , Venice to Trieste , Trieste to Ljubana? Slovenia, Slovenia to Budapest .Where I meet up with friends . I am doingthis on a tight budget .Your hotel in Milan sounded so great ,can you tell me whatit was called and what the rate was ? I think your photos are really great too you have a great eye! Glad your dreams are coming true . All the best, Amy .

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb