Last day in Milan...and I'm on my way home...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
August 17th 2005
Published: August 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So it is my last day here in Milan.....and I have slightly mixed emotions. I have been a little sad to leave but now that I am all packed and pretty much ready to go, I am ready to come home. It will be good to get settled and stop spending so much money traveling every weekend (even though I love it!) These last few weeks have been great....its really cemented how blessed I have been in this whole endeavor, how much this is exactly the place I was supposed to be. At the beginning I knew that because things kind of came together like they did....I found housing (for free at that!), we had a great bunch of interns that I loved hanging out with, the people I worked with were so welcoming and interested in us, they really nurtured us in our work here and possibly in future careers. But as the summer went on I really saw how the relationships I've built here would affect me as a person. I've definitely made some friends that I (hope) will keep for a long time. I feel like I have been met on levels in a professional and personal sense I was missing at home simply because of the kind of circles I have been put in (mostly with school, studying with young people). Not that I do not have everything I need and want at home, but on some level as you look into what you want to do with you life, you start to look for people who see the qualities in you that will make you good at your job, and people who want to encourage and grow those qualities. I feel like I have not only learned a lot this summer both about my work and about the offices here at the Consulate, but also about relations in this kind of atmosphere and about other people's experiences in life, both personally and professionally. I was surpised at how much recruiting went on, how much we as interns were encouraged to really consider this (and other agencies) as a career, when we were just so happy to be here and have this opportunity. But that is one of the things I've been craving is having a job that I am doing because I can do it, that is one I can move up in and grow in. I feel like overall this summer was a growing experience on many levels, but most of all that it is setting me up for the opportunities and experiences I will have in the future. I have definitely gained a wider perspective on jobs available within the government, and have at least a short list started of places I might want to apply. So in all of these aspects I have been blessed, plus I got to make a lot of friends I will treasure deeply.
Along with all of this, of course, I got to live in and experience this amazing country! I know I have not written about it yet, but the time I spent in Naples with Francesca and then again this weekend with her at the beach in Liguria were amazing! About Naples, I must say that they are probably the nicest, most welcoming people I have ever met, even though I really do think that about all Italians. But Francesca and I have such a good time there, its absolutely stunning and a really interesting city because its like they have the opportunity to be a "tourist town" but don't really take advantage of it, so you actually get to see the culture there as it is. We went to Capri for a day, which is an island just off the coast of Naples. It was just as beautiful, the weather was great and the whole weekend Francesca and I had a great time bouncing around in the South. The culture is so different there from the north, much more laidback than Milan, and it really is beautiful. It has made me really want to look up my roots and for my next trip here, make it to the south to the towns my great-grandparents are from. There is something indescribable about being in a place you know is your blood. Its almost like a magical thing, I think especially for Americans because our relatives immigrated here, and to go back there I think is almost like trying to understand their journey to America, their lives in their native land, and really how we came to be who we are. So I am intrigued and am working on planning that trip.

This last weekend I went to a small town on the Mediterranean called Lavagna, its a bit south of Genova. I stayed with Francesca and her family and we hung out at the beach and in the little neighboring towns. Its beautiful there, both because the weather was nice and also because these towns are alive with Italians. Milan right now is absolutely deserted because everyone is on vacation, and the beach is where they're at! But its cute because there was a little antique market, fresh fruit and vegetable and fish markets, and people everywhere! And Francesca's family are the nicest people in the world! Very warm and welcoming, fed me some of the best food I've had all summer, and said that when I came back to Italy I always had a place at their house outside of Milan and also at the beach. And to think I had just met them the day before! This is what I mean about Italians, I feel like it is sort of a stereotype that they are welcoming people, but the people I have run into have really met and exceeded that steroetype.....which was nice because it makes me feel like I am with family even if its not mine. 😊 So in all, I have had the amazing opportunity to travel (and have always been safe, thank God) make great friends here and of course improve my Italian! I can't even count how many times I have thought to myself how lucky I am to have people who want to help me and take care of me.....when I needed to send boxes home (because I brought too much stuff) but they were too heavy to carry, I asked my friend Jimmy and took up several hours of two of his work days to finally get them off. When I could not figure out how to get to the airport at 5 am with all my luggage, the Consulate gave me a driver to take me for free. At this point I have more places to stay in Milan than I can possibly ever use....so if anyone wants to come back with me....hotel room's on me! hehe....

But really, these last three months feel like a year, but a good one at that, and I am ready to take this experience and all of my other ones to see what I can do with myself. I know now that this is definitely a country I will spend a lot more time in....as I feel like I kind of took my time falling in love with it, the language, the culture, the people. As my first second language I will have to return if I have any hope of not forgetting it.....which won't be hard to do. Its hard to not enjoy this country!

Tonight I am (finally) going to see the Last Supper. I had tried to go when I first got here but you had to get an appointment like a month in advance, and I never really got around to it. Then a friend of mine that works here heard me say I hadn't seen it and she called (with the Consulate's name, I think) and got me an appointment for today. SO that will be a good end to my trip here, then its home and to bed early for a 330 am rising.

Oh one last "fun thing" I did....Monday was a holiday called Ferragosto (still not quite sure what its for, but everything is DEFINITELY closed for it). Jimmy hosted a small, slightly American style party for it at his house....and invited two policemen he knew and one of their girlfriends. It was so much fun! First of all Jimmy and I prepared Caprese, with fresh mozzarella, tomatoes and basil, and then prosciutto and cantelope (its acutally really good). So that was our Italian contribution. The Italians then brought homemade wine and gelato, and we cooked steaks and hung for oh say 7 hours or so. But it was so fun because the dinner conversation with a slight language barrier is always so funny! One person says something that actually means something else and it just kicks off a conversation about meaningless but funny things like what words are really offensive in Italian that Americans say all the time because we think they mean something else. It was a good time, and we introduced the Italians to some American delicacies, like S'mores, starbucks coffee and peanut butter (they liked the S'mores but the rest not so much!) It was a good farewell party and will definitely leave me with a funny impression of Italians!

Well, I am off to finish up my last day in Milan. I should be home and good and rested by about Saturday (and hopefully I'll wake up before then too)....but after 22 hours of travel who knows. Can't wait to see everyone and catch up in person!

Ciao!!!

Advertisement



17th August 2005

Thanks for the blogs!
Can't wait to see you! I have enjoyed your blog so much! Thanks for doing such a great job on it! I almost felt like I was there with you! Have a safe trip home! Love you!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb